>"INSIDE" Scout Dyke

>I’ve been to Scout Dyke 3 times in the 5 years I’ve been here and each time has been different. The first was a walk, the second was a photo shoot, and this time, today, I was able to walk on the reservoir bed and explore inside the weir, due to a very low water level.

I had a little chat with one of the fishermen. He was just leaving with his permitted 2 rainbow trout (would that be a brace?). He told me they have to put any brown trout back, that they’re not allowed to keep any trout in a net, and they’re only allowed to take 2 fish home. So he’d caught his 2 – quite big ones, by all accounts – had cleaned them and thrown the guts back for the ducks.

Then I went for my wander. Here’s another of the fishermen I encountered:

This is the best I could get of this bumble bee:

My macro photography seems to be improving – finally:

It’s very rare to get this close to the pump tower. You can even see the regular water level marks on the wall:
This is the top of the weir – totally dry:

Here’s a perspective shot so you can see how big the thing is (that’s me, by the way):

This is the bottom of the weir. You can see how stagnant the water is at the moment:

And here is what it looks like when you’re at the bottom of the weir:

Here is the wind farm:

This vegetation would normally be growing on the reservoir bed:

There are more pictures in my Facebook, this album is open for everyone to view.

Enjoy the pictures.

8 thoughts on “>"INSIDE" Scout Dyke

  1. >Scout Dyke is only about 10 mins from my home. I've never seen it so low. I've just come back from a week in the Lakes and water levels are very low there. Although the rain arrived with me (it usually does) it was not enough to make the slightest difference.

    Like

  2. >Carol: I could hardly believe it when I saw the water level so low. I even texted a friend that we must need rain. I joked on Facebook that I cosmicly ordered rain, and when we woke up this morning, there it was. 😮 We do need a lot more, though.Devon: You're very welcome.

    Like

Comments are closed.