>Tall person required

>Two of the 3 lightbulbs in my kitchen have gone and the ceilings are so high in my house I can’t reach when I stand on a chair, and it’s a major expedition to extract the stepladder from where it’s stowed away. Every time I need the stepladder I have to plan it down to the finest detail.

So I’ll make do with a tall person, i.e. someone taller than me, to stand on the chair and change the bulbs for me. They’re dinky spots and are notorious for just working themselves loose, and that’s really annoying when I’ve gone to all the trouble of getting the steps, but they might need actual changing this time.

Library
I didn’t need to leave early to check my hair appointment. While hunting for my library ticket I found the appointment card and it was for 4:30pm instead of 4pm. The fact that it was “lost” was why it wasn’t in the diary. That gave me an extra half an hour in the house, and a bit more time to explore the library.

I’m starting to fall in love with my library. The books aren’t as tatty as I seem to remember them from childhood. Perhaps I should have given it a go again sooner.

Study
Yesterday was Exercise 3 of Devon’s 5 in 10 (reprise). I’ve chosen 1 of 2 newspaper cuttings and need to come up with 1,000 – 1,200 words. The way I’m romping through my schedule at the moment, it should be easy enough to add this in, and my next “gap” is for a short story, so that’s handy. Already there’s something stewing, but I won’t write anything yet as it needs to stew some more, and it’s a “heavy” topic. I have made notes, though.

I had a think about my Writers’ Bureau exercise hoping to identify an article I’m already writing further down the schedule. It won’t fit, though. That means I have to visit a local fair, exhibition, or show and try and come up with 300 – 500 words, including quotes. Blimey. Then I have to write 150-word outlines for 2 more local interest articles, and write one of them up to 250 – 500 words. These are very short so should be easy. Finding the material is the difficult part.

Day job
Today I’m busy structuring the magazine, contacting contributors. I already have a cover this time, but I’m hoping the pictures will be fabulous enough.

The weekend
I can’t believe it’s Friday again already. That’s what happens when you take an impromptu day off in the middle of the week. The working week suddenly becomes even shorterer. I haven’t thought about what I’m doing at the weekend.

Today, on my way home, I need to shop. The freezer is looking startlingly empty and my list is HUGE. It’s going to be a biggie. And on Sunday I want to go for a walk (and write a walk review). But aside from that, my weekend this weekend is anybody’s guess.

Have a goodun.

3 thoughts on “>Tall person required

  1. >Devon: I often find grocery shopping quite relaxing, but when I don't have the time or when I'm buying for someone else and don't know what they want, it gets a bit more stressful.Suzanne: I may have to drag the kitchen table into the middle of the floor to do it …

    Like

Comments are closed.