>Countdown

> I think I’ve decided to go for it. There are only a few hours left on the poll and while some have passed comment but not voted, I think it’s pretty obvious what the majority thinks. [gulp]

Honestly, I do think it will be good. I’ve pencilled in the diary, ensuring I have 2 hours every day including Friday evenings and weekends, while still maintaining the writing schedule, the day job, the non-fiction, chores and life. I won’t like giving up my weekend. I know that already. But maybe at the end of it I’ll have got used to writing for 2 hours Monday to Thursday evenings, and if I feel like it, I’ll work on a Saturday too – daytime. But at the end of the month I’ll give myself the weekends back, including Friday evenings. I’ll still have Monday evenings and alternate Thursday evenings during NaNo, so maybe it won’t be so hard.

Whatever else I schedule into the diary, during DianeTime, this past few weeks it’s the writing jobs that have been crossed off, regularly and mostly on date. What’s gone by the wayside has been household chores and the occasional gig. Week 2 looks like it will be hard, but I’m going to give it a go.

I can’t take The Beast Within into NaNo. It’s not allowed. But I am reading No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty as part of my prep work, and I am going through all the material I already have. Here are the options:

  • Stevie Tarot 1: 0 The Fool (contemporary/mystery)
  • Catch the Rainbow (historical/mystery – 1974)
  • White Horse Farm (romance/intrigue/adventure/contemporary)
  • something new and different – probably about pirates (romance/intrigue/adventure/historical)

Some others that really shouldn’t be started yet, but are stewing away, include:

  • Marcie Craig 3: Snowblind
  • Stevie Tarot 2: 1 The Magician
  • Hattie’s Hotshots (historical/mystery – 1950s/1960s)
  • Marcie Craig 4: Killer Queen
  • Stevie Tarot 3: 2 The High Priestess
  • Cider and Sympathy (historical/saga – early 1900s)
  • Marcie Craig 5: Burn
  • Stevie Tarot 4: 3 The Empress (you can see where I’m going with this, can’t you?)

I know my friends are worried about me taking on too much, but I’ve been doing this for so long now, I really do think I should at least give it a shot. After all, next year I hope to be even more busy than I am this year with the new projects coming through.

Anyone fancy joining me at NaNo? Whip-crackers get ready.

6 thoughts on “>Countdown

  1. >Don't forget to keep breathing, Diane.I have always thought of doing Nanowrimo but always decide against it and think 'Maybe next year'. At the moment I've got too much else going on and I need to pace myself.Don't get overdoing things. Keep breathing. And make some chilling out time too.

    Like

  2. >Good luck to you too, and I'll bob in and collect that friend thing. There might be a slight change of plan, though, due to work coming in – Lori said it always happens every time she wants to do something "nice", her workload suddenly increases. If the new project will allow it, I'll still join in, but it's looking a bit heavy at the moment.

    Like

Comments are closed.