>Let it snow!

>We had snow forecast at midnight last night, but it arrived 4 hours early. It snowed and snowed for about 5 hours and I thought we’d be snowed in this morning. But we’re not. We have the sum total of a grand inch on the floor. How is this so? Do we have heated mine shafts beneath us or something? Or is it just the wrong kind of snow?

I do feel sorry for anyone that has to be out driving in it, but I’m loving it, personally. I took today off and was looking forward to tramping through a few inches. Ah well, never mind. At least it means my journey south should be unhindered tomorrow.

The only jobs I have to do today are wrap presents and take library books back, but I just discovered I can renew my library books online if I want to. There is supposed to be skeleton staff there today, so I could still go down there and return the books I’ve read. But I might ring ahead first to make sure there’s someone there. If not, I’ll just renew them online and take them back next week. I was pleased about that because I wondered if they would still fine me if I tried to take my books back but couldn’t as there was no staff, but I do think they should have some disaster recovery plan in place for those that don’t have online access.

Yesterday I finished work at 4:15pm so I could get to my hair appointment for 5:15pm. The only place I hit bad traffic was Parkgate in Rotherham where there’s a big shopping centre. I’m glad I did my shopping on Tuesday. And if I can’t make the journey to see my family tomorrow, at least I have plenty of food in. I can always go down Boxing Day instead.

I was going to watch a film again last night but didn’t get home in time. I was hoping to see Jim Carrey in Yes Man, but it started bang on time. I turned over to watch John Grisham’s The Firm instead. I got 10 minutes in and remembered every single minute to follow, so I switched off and read. I’m enjoying reading about the goofs on this internet movie database (after I’ve seen the film, of course) to see if I noticed them.

Today I start a new book, A Fairly Dangerous Thing by Reginald Hill. There are quite a lot of films on this afternoon and this evening, but I think my main Christmas Eve viewing will be the 100th episode of Taggart. I selected the story in The Sun for this one, but Google “100th episode of Taggart” and there are plenty to choose from.

That’s me done for a couple of days. Have a wonderful holiday season.

4 thoughts on “>Let it snow!

  1. >Merry Christmas Diane! Hope you enjoyed your films. The snow here is almost melted but it was incredibly icy yesterday, took me 15 minutes to negotiate 100 yards on foot.

    Like

Comments are closed.