>The plan for 2010

>It’s a slightly shorter list this year, but I’m hoping that results in more ticks than last year. Here then are my goals, dreams and resolutions for the coming year, all in one place. Wish me luck.

2010 goals

  • at least 2 holidays away – I already have a writing weekend booked in February but I’m toying with a walking holiday in the summer
  • Christmas in Canada
  • secure a publisher for one of my novels

2010 dreams

  • get another publishing contract
  • reduce debt (continue to see it coming down)

2010 resolutions

writing

  • complete 1 novel
  • complete local history book, Voices from the Dearne Valley
  • write 12 short stories
  • write 12 full-length articles
  • write and submit 12 reader’s letters or fillers
  • NaNo
  • enter 4 writing competitions
  • get the freelance writing/WIP calendar going again
  • learn shorthand

day job

  • tidy office and work out an archive system for the old magazines and newsletters
  • write something for every issue
  • produce 4 magazines
  • assist with and produce 2 brochures
  • launch new website

health & fitness

  • lose the rest of that stone (8lb)
  • walk or exercise every week
  • get my cholesterol levels checked
  • arrange blood sugar test
  • get another broken tooth fixed
  • pluck up courage to see an optician – and hope eyesight hasn’t dropped to below the recommended level for driving …

moneysaving/moneymaking

  • keep weekly grocery bill to £40 or less
  • investigate the possibility of a slow cooker
  • boost my freelance journalism to boost my earning power
  • keep on top of budget

life

  • get to the theatre/ballet at least 4 times
  • get to the cinema at least 4 times
  • a long-distance walk every month
  • continue to read a novel a month

home

  • fix guttering
  • repoint stonework
  • paint outside of house

hobbies

  • start sewing again
  • make the most of RSPB membership

The website will be switched off on 4 January.

21 thoughts on “>The plan for 2010

  1. >That's a huge list, but if anyone can do it you can.I won a slow cooker 25 years ago – I never found out which competition it came from, it just arrived with the postie one day. It's looking a bit old fashioned now, but I wouldn't be without it.

    Like

  2. >It's a lot shorter than last year, Katie. But thanks. You joining us on Slimming Buddies this year? I re-sent the invite to your old email address but I can get any new one from Facebook now (thanks for adding me :o) ).

    Like

  3. >It's nice to know others have more faith in me than I do. :o)I got a free slow cooker years and years ago, I think it was as a result of signing up for a mail order catalogue. I never, ever used it, though, and sent it to a charity shop in the end. It can't have been a fancy one, probably just a basic one. But I'm not 100% sure I'd use one now anyway. I'm a casserole/saucepan gal, can't/won't even use a pressure cooker.

    Like

  4. >Happy New Year. A huge list as ever. It was noticable on last years list that it was the writing in particular that didn't get fulfilled. Good luck with it all, you have loads of folk wishing you well and spurring you on. YOU CAN DO IT!

    Like

  5. >It's great to have clear goals to reach towards, and it is inspiring to see you so focussed and ready to take on these challenges.Happy New Year Diane, and all the best to you 🙂

    Like

  6. >Wow what a list! Go for it!Being nosy here – but the writing course you are booked on in February – is it the writing course in Fishguard with Kate Walker? If it is I'll see you there! Take care. Caroline x

    Like

  7. >Caroline: Hello and welcome. Yes, it is Fishguard, and I'm booked on the novel workshops too. But as I now have to pay for my guttering to be fixed, I may not be able to afford it until payment for the big job I just finished comes through.

    Like

  8. >That's a lot of stuff, Diane! You're one dynamo of a planner!I like that you broke it down between plans and resolutions. I LOVE that you put the holidays at the top of your plans. Reward yourself and give yourself rest before expecting to complete anything. Amen!

    Like

  9. >Hello Jarmara and welcome. I think if we took a bit of time to write down what we do or what we have to do, all of our lists will be equally impressive, and then we can feel much better about ourselves. It is a big list, though, but it is smaller than last year.

    Like

Comments are closed.