>Snow day!

>I’m shocked and stunned. We finally have proper, big, real snow. The stuff that ensnares gritters (apparently they do exist on t’other side of Pennines), stops buses, shuts schools, closes roads, causes accidents, halts flights and trains. I still don’t understand why it’s come as such a shock, though. We’ve had snow (of a fashion) on the ground for the best part of 3 weeks now, and we knew there was a big dump to come this week.

Some people have made it in to work. I was advised not to bother, so I didn’t. It took next door over an hour to get to the chemist to collect essential medicine and back. The kids across the road caught a bus to school, then got lifts back with some of the parents. The primary school is closed. The secondary school has closed. Our buses are stopping at 10am. And there is NO GRIT on any of the roads.

I did ring my boss in Holland first thing – about 7:30am our time, 8:30am their time, which is 1 hour 15 minutes past his start time – but he hadn’t arrived yet either. I left a message that I’d try to get in later, then got the message from a work mate in Rotherham. This snow may be here until the end of the weekend.

So, what happened at the weekend? I did set a couple of posts to upload automatically, but when they didn’t (maybe I hit “save” instead of “publish”) I deleted them.

On Friday night, New Year’s Day evening, I did make it to my home club in Sheffield to see a band I’ve been promising to see for a full year. Not many made it, not even the locals. But the band did and they had lots of fun anyway. I loved them. In the break they told me their other band was playing the next day in Leeds, and did I want to go?

It’s a pub I’d not been to before but a band I really like, so I wanted to but didn’t fancy the drive. “That’s okay,” they said. “You can come with us. There will be room for you on the ‘tour bus’,” (aka, in the van). So I said I would, and then they said they’d ask the guitarist to take his car so he could pick me up. Then I felt a burden so told them not to worry, I’d see them again another time.

Next morning the text came in saying the guitarist was taking his car and would pick me up anyway. So Cinders did go to the ball, and she had another fantastic, fun evening. All that way to a pub I’ve never been, and the (very young, but very lovely) landlord actually knew who I was. 😮 So that was nice. I was supposed to be returning the driving favour this Friday, but if this snow continues, we may have to take a rain cheque.

I’m not used to going on the road with a band, certainly not for any distance, or for any very late nights, so I spent much of Sunday recovering. I didn’t make it back to my home club that evening either – what a wimp.

Yesterday was a bit of this, a bit of that, and today I’ve been up since getting-up time watching the weather and travel on the telly.

Unexpected day off – I expect I shall waste much of it watching the snow fall.

10 thoughts on “>Snow day!

  1. >Happy new year, Diane. I suppose all this is good writing weather but I too have been sitting staring out of the window and watching weather reports on telly. We are snowed in, have run out of milk and are now drinking black tea. Yuck!

    Like

  2. >I'm glad you got your snow – but I hope it doesn't last too long. We're now into the third week of unrelenting arctic weather – and all getting a bit fed up.Take care.XX

    Like

  3. >YESSS! You got snow! I'm so happy for you!We still have a ton on the ground – on some roads, you are literally driving through walls of snow. We're supposed to get more tonight and tomorrow, too.

    Like

Comments are closed.