>Migraine

>I was a bit out of sorts over the weekend. Nothing outstanding, just a bit … off. I stayed in Friday and Saturday nights and went out Sunday night, but apart from that I did hardly anything. Monday I stayed in bed, just couldn’t get myself to move, and yesterday I woke with a massive migraine. Usually a migraine hits me head-on with my vision being the first to go – it tunnels before disappearing completely and the trick is to lie down in a darkened room before the vision goes. The headache and nausea come on then, but they’re usually gone by the next morning. This is the first time a migraine has crept up on me.

Perhaps I went into meltdown during January; perhaps I just had too much on my mind. Anyway, it’s gone now and I’m back at work where the news on the street is still No News.

The To Do list for January isn’t looking as good as I’d hoped, following the Weekend That Never Happened, and although I wrote the draft of an article, I missed the competition deadline. Everything else will just move along to February’s To Do list. I’ll get those both done next.

I have magazine work and website work to do at work, and I’m feeling slightly sick following someone force-feeding me birthday cake. I also have WotWots 2 to be getting on with this week and a writing weekend to prepare for … if they still have my place (I had to use my holiday money to pay for the hot water and the car brakes).

We had snow yesterday, it was lovely to watch. Started as drizzle, progressed through heavy rain and sleet, and then nice big fluffy flakes of snow. I watched it through the window for a couple of hours while I was supposed to be reading. This morning it’s just a hard frost that took ages to scrape from the car. I don’t use boiling water, in case it cracks the glass, and anyway if it’s very cold it just freezes again, and I don’t use de-icer because it’s not great for the environment and it just mists up as soon as I start to drive. This morning a neighbour tried to convert me to the de-icer, saying “it’s quicker”. But it’s no quicker if as soon as I turn the bend I crash into an oncoming car I can’t see due to the mist.

I’m happy with my scraper, thanks.

14 thoughts on “>Migraine

  1. >Glad to hear you are ok. I've been missing your posts! I've got sort of fluey bug but trying not to give in to it as I've got a deadline to meet.

    Like

  2. >Thanks, Abi. It's nice to be missed. :o)I used to work through it, then I worked out it took longer to get over it and work suffered as a result, so now I take the time out to recover so I can get back to it quicker.

    Like

  3. >Oh, I feel for you, Diane. I've found that meditating on something helps you avoid "looking" at that light, which calms down any nausea.Be well soon.

    Like

  4. >Hey I missed you too. Was hoping you were ok. Funny how we get used to people being there to connect with, even though its on a screen. Then when they don't show up, you realise you kinda miss them being around. I'm afraid I use hot water on my windscreen…eek,not good I Know !

    Like

  5. >It's better now we have the blogroll, when it's working on time, that is. We can see when a blog has been updated.I don't mind if you use hot water – I just don't like being told I *should* use de-icer. :o)

    Like

  6. >Plus you get more exercise in using the scraper, right? ;-)Migraines stink. I get tension headaches so I don't know exactly what migraines are like, but I have an inkling. Glad yours is gone.

    Like

  7. >Absolutely. :o)For me it's just a nauseous headache and I can't see. For others it's flashing lights. Others get banging and clattering in their heads. One friend is totally paralysed, though painfully, down the one side and has to go to bed. They can be horrible.

    Like

Comments are closed.