>Meditation

>In January one of my jobs to do was a short article entitled The Magic of Wilderness. This was for a competition where the prize is a short meditation break on the Isle of Skye. I managed the outline and the first draft, but I got busy and missed the 31 January deadline, so I abandoned the idea.

When the magazine came through this month the email deadline had been extended to 14 February, so yesterday I wrote the second draft. (I’m glad I didn’t scrap it – was thinking of submitting it to their magazine at a later date anyway.)

That’s the hard work done now, really. All I have to do is type it up and polish it between now and Sunday. That’ll be a few more “extras” on my tick list for February, which I’m doing as I go along.

Travel isn’t included, so a trip to Inverness will also mean a bit of a holiday on route too (cat sitters permitting). I don’t expect to win, but it would be nice to already have board and lodging sorted on the actual island if I do win, and that could be my second holiday of the year, if I can afford it.

Wouldn’t a meditation break be perfect?

The snow hasn’t arrived yet, although we did get a couple of cracking hail storms yesterday. I know they already have white stuff in other parts of the country, but here it’s just the temperature that’s dropped dramatically.

On my way into work yesterday I passed a police car and 2 fire engines in attendance down a “back in” driveway (goes along the back of houses). On my way home this site had crime scene tape around it and a police officer in attendance. Hmm. I wonder if they found a body or something. I’ve never seen a crime scene before.

Today I have to sort out a couple of UK-based interviewees for an article, and I need to get moving on the rest of the magazine. I also need to get my Fishguard submission typed, polished and submitted.

6 thoughts on “>Meditation

  1. >Good luck with the competition..I have a feeling that you might be visiting that Island 🙂 Another long car journey all the way up there! Actually I'm going to start pushing myself with car journey challenges too, cos with some good music, and the knowledge that you're heading somewhere new and beautiful, it can be really enjoyable can't it.

    Like

  2. >I've never had a problem with car journeys. Obviously it's more fun when you have a co-driver, but if I didn't drive anywhere I wouldn't go anywhere or do anything. If I end up going all the way to the tip of Scotland, I'll be dropping the cats off in Birmingham again (all being well), so that's an extra 100 miles on my journey. I'd probably look at coach or train fares too but work out if it's worth me doing a road trip myself and breaking it on the way.

    Like

Comments are closed.