>Stuff happens

>The crime scene is still a crime scene, but instead of an individual officer on guard, there’s a whole car there now. I can’t find anything about it anywhere, though. Perhaps it’s still under wraps.

Had quite a busy day yesterday. One of my authors is suddenly unavailable due to personal reasons and he was writing 2 articles – his deadline was last Friday and while I knew there may be a problem, I only found out yesterday morning that one of his articles needed to be covered by me and my boss between us. My boss had already done 2 interviews and I now had to find 2 experts in the UK to either interview or ask for a few words (well, 400 words each) at short notice.

A couple of hours’ detective work followed and of 6 people I asked, 2 agreed to provide the material at short notice, which was brilliant. These are busy people and we have a VIP visit on Friday they have to prepare for, so I’m really grateful to those that were able to help.

I think there’s a big article going to fail to appear, though. Don’t know why, just a feeling in my water I suppose. It’s a 4-pager and if it doesn’t arrive by this Friday I’m in trouble. My boss has a couple of articles already in he needs to translate, and I have another 2 that I’ve been working with the authors on. But I’ve had to ask one of our new editorial board members if he can let us have 4 pages too. If he can, I might be sorted. If he can’t, it’s going to be a thinner magazine this time than last time. I also have to remind another board member of 2 articles he was providing.

I got my synopsis done for Fishguard, but I still have to type up chapter 1. I wanted to squeeze it in yesterday, but stuff like this has to come first. I’ll be working on that today, this morning preferably. I have to get it off before the weekend and even then the tutor may not have time to look at it.

We had 3 snow showers in Sleepy Hollow yesterday. It didn’t stick. I don’t know what it did in the Back of Beyond, but there’s nothing here either, it looks like another false alarm and I’ll be back in the office tomorrow. I’ve arranged for all of my emails to be forwarded to my personal address just in case, but I don’t think it’ll be necessary.

8 thoughts on “>Stuff happens

  1. >If you haven't done your synopsis yet then on't bother sending anything off to the organisers. They are away from today until the Fishguard weekend.Don't stress, just take your stuff with you.See you soon.

    Like

  2. >When it rains it pours, eh? I hope things go better for you today, Diane. We used to keep "extra" article on hand in case authors bailed or problems arose. Saved our skin a few times.

    Like

  3. >We were kind of expecting it, Lori, but I wasn't expecting it to happen yesterday or to such an extent. A lot of our stuff is project related and quite topical, so it does come in at the last minute. I do have some evergreens, but I have to include a good balance of technological stuff versus human interest, and it's the human interest I tend to have in spades.

    Like

  4. >On the first day there was a police woman guarding the place. For the past 2 days there's been a car parked across the access drive, and I don't know how many are in there, probably 2.If they're still there tomorrow, I may go for a walk … :o)Blogger doesn't convert the smileys anyway. :o(

    Like

Comments are closed.