>Fishguard day 2

>The day dawned bright with a terrific sunrise, but while we had breakfast, a sea hoar drifted in. When the mist lifted, it was snowing. Then the snow turned to heavy rain before the breeze blew the weather inland. The sun strained throughout the rest of the day, but didn’t quite make it back again. Later I found out we’d also had hail. We were told if we look out the window and don’t like the look of the weather, not to worry, it’ll be doing something else in five minutes. Welcome to Pembrokeshire.

I had a hearty breakfast, fruit juice, full Welsh cooked (bacon, sausage, fried egg, best mushrooms I’ve ever tasted, declined the tomato), and a bowl of cereal. Then I rather stupidly said I’d walk into Fishguard – we can see the upper town from the hotel. I wandered around Goodwick (where the hotel is situated) first before going gung-ho up the hill … that hill almost killed me. By the time I reached the top I was ready to catch a bus back. But I stayed and became a tourist for a few hours and took lots of photographs.

I caught my breath in a little café where before I’d even sat down a complete stranger, also a customer so not even the hired turn, burst out laughing and told me I had to listen to this poem he’d just read in the newspaper. Then he proceeded to read it, and read it, and read it … and finally gave up, saying there were 6 more verses. He left soon after and I was able to enjoy my bara brith (Welsh fruit tea bread) in relative peace … until a handbag at the next table suddenly announced in a patronising voice: “Take the next left …”. The handbag’s owner had left her sat-nav switched on.

My little mementoes this trip are 2 slate coasters with a different Celtic design on each, a mood ring that changes colour in front of your eyes (it’s currently amber – nervous, unsettled, cool), and one of Alison Chisholm’s books. I spent the grand total of £6.

According to my pedometer, I walked 12,979 steps, burned 389 calories (is that all?), and covered 7.78km (apx 4.8miles). I’m quite happy with that, although I’m disappointed the hill almost did me in. I should be fitter than that.

While sifting through my Worsbrough Mill material, I stumbled upon 2 booklets of walks in and around Barnsley, starting at 3 miles and working up to 7 miles. So I’ve scheduled in about 3 per month over the coming weeks – the main reason I’ve not made it on my other walks is because they’re so far away I’ve not been able to justify the petrol money. Walking in Barnsley shouldn’t really break the bank before I even get there.

Back at the hotel I chilled, took time out, read for a while, rested a while, and got ready for the 6:30pm evening reception and official start to the writing weekend. I couldn’t manage all of my tea – plaice followed by apple and rhubarb crumble – I’ll be fatter than a pig by the time I get home.

We met our tutors, had a chat, got given homework. At 9:30 this morning we have our first session.

6 thoughts on “>Fishguard day 2

  1. >I am sooooo jealous of the Welsh breakfast. I was only talking to my other half this morning joking that I'd like a full English, plus toast, cup of tea, morning paper. I can't print her response, save to say that a weetabix and a glass of orange didn't quite have the same satisfying result!XX

    Like

  2. >Rare Lesser: The full Welsh is wonderful. :o)Teresa: Thank you – I'm glad I could conjure it up for you. Maybe you'll be here next year.Carol: You gave me so much fun with that little snippet. I've used it in tomorrow's blog.Devon: I'm really enjoying it.Jarmara: I'm eating far too much and am even having an early night tonight to sleep it all off.

    Like

Comments are closed.