>Solihull –> Barnsley + pictures

>I made the journey in record time, left Mom’s and Dad’s at 10:30am and was home by 12:15pm. I think that’s the fastest I’ve ever done it. The weather was kind, although there was snow lying in places as I got further north, the traffic was even better, and I got home in time to chill a while before work today.

So, back to the old grindstone. Today I’m back at the office and in mad production on the magazine as 3 x 4-page articles were pulled and we’ve had to replace them post-deadline and work on some of them ourselves.

I also need to crack on with Voices from the Dearne Valley. The deadline is looming, I know I have to do it, you know I have to do it, so we’ll just have to take it as read that that’s what I’ll be concentrating on over the coming weeks. I also have a new proposal I want to submit at the same time. Plus there are various chapters in 2 novels to be working on, the competition entry that’s due in this Friday, and everything else still on my To Do list for February.

Because I’m quite busy now I’ll leave you with a very small selection of pictures from the weekend. (I’m keeping others in case of publication).

Here is our hotel, the Fishguard Bay Hotel:

I always find a boat wherever I go, even in the inland bits:

Fishguard has 3 mosaics depicting various parts of the town’s history. Here is a detail from just one of them. It shows part of the last ever invasion of Britain in 1797:

I dropped on lucky with these cottages above Lower Fishguard. I can see this picture getting a lot of use:

And, as usual, to prove I was there and to give perspective, here I am with the standing stone circle above the harbour. I’m 5′ 4″, the stone to my left is about an inch taller than me, the one to my right is about 6″ taller:

Enjoy.

8 thoughts on “>Solihull –> Barnsley + pictures

  1. >Melissa: It was like being in one of those hotels you always see when you're on holiday but can't afford. :o)Are you going to ask me about the picture? :oD

    Like

Comments are closed.