>Five years?!

>Happy Blogaversary to me,
Happy Blogaversary to me,
Happy Blogaversary, Happy Blogaversary,
Happy Blogaversery to me.

I can hardly believe it, particularly as it started as just a whim and I thought the fad would last, at best, 3 months. But here is my very first blog all those years ago.

So, what to do to celebrate? What to give away? What criteria to win?

The “prize”
Well, 2 weeks ago I published my first novel via Print on Demand. I’m not sure yet I’m going to continue down this route and I gave the book one last push at mainstream publishing before making my final decision.

I also still have galleys to check (the book lost some of its chapter formatting during publication and I need to iron that out), and, of course, there’s the small matter of the illegal dust jacket. I DO have an alternative artist lined up and this version WILL NOT be available for sale. However, I will give away one copy of this illegal, first edition, limited copy of Night Crawler.

Feels like a bit of a booby prize, actually … :o)

The blurb
It is Easter 1996, and a young, homosexual junkie has been murdered. His boyfriend is arrested and charged. Marcie Craig, local DJ and good friend of the prime suspect, knows he didn’t do it and sets out to find out who did. Along the way Marcie is beaten up, another friend is murdered, and another is questioned until, in the end, Marcie’s own life is threatened.

The criteria
All you have to do is leave a comment to this post, saying “happy blogaversary” and why you came/come along to the blog today/every day. BUT PLEASE REMEMBER TO LEAVE A NAME. Even if you choose “anonymous”, please put your name at the bottom, either your real name or one that I may know you by. IF YOU DON’T LEAVE A NAME I CAN’T PUT IT IN THE HAT.

I’ll put all the names in a hat, and draw the winning entry – so I’ll need a snail mail address if you win (but not yet), OR if the winner prefers, I can send an electronic version of the book via email. Please state which you would like with your comment/entry.

The closing date
I’m going to leave this “competition” open for 2 weeks, to catch anyone that’s on holiday or can’t get online, and to give me time to get a decent copy of the book in the post to me here that I can send out to the “winner”. (Ooh, all these substantial words feel very odd – competition, prize, winner, etc. I’m feeling very pompous.) So the closing date is Thursday 11 March 2010.

Yesterday
I had quite a busy day yesterday with all the articles finally coming in for the magazine (aside from the ones my boss is doing and another late one that should be here by Friday). I also had a session with the Smoggie snapper/deputy editor. He’s done some mugshots for the dust jacket of the book, but some of them are so good I may have to use them as my profile pictures elsewhere too.

Last night I should have gone to a Help for Heroes concert, but I was so busy and quite tired, by the time I finished working I dropped straight into bed for an early night.

Today
It’s going to be another busy one today, even though I’m at home. I’m feeling quite a bit overwhelmed at the moment, so this is when I do a To Do list for today. Here’s what I’d like to get through today:

  • launch 5 year blog contest
  • do an hour on the gig list for March
  • write #1 of Worsbrough Mill
  • tidy kitchen
  • write #2 of Catch the Rainbow Ch1
  • send a reader’s letter to Slimming World
  • prepare submission package for Country Walking
  • check the bank (pay day today) and balance books
  • go to the library
  • hair appointment
  • read

Look, see, it’s not so bad when you write it out like that … although there are a couple of biggies on there. I’ve already had my Facebook fix.

34 thoughts on “>Five years?!

  1. >Happy Blogaversary πŸ™‚ ! The book sounds great. I only follow a handfull of blogs and I guess there is something about your honesty and genuineness in your writing that brings me back here regularly. There's nothing pretentios and showy, just you and your thoughts, and I think in some ways that has had some influence on my own writing. So thank you.Keep doing what you are doing and being you.

    Like

  2. >Many congratulations, it was interesting to see you first one. To think you have rarely missed a day, even after holidays you have caught up….fantastic and a blog I wouldn't miss for anything.

    Like

  3. >Happy Blogaversary – five years! Is there any cake?I come here because you always make me feel like getting off my behind and doing something. I've done a lot more home baking for instance and I've bought a pedometer and read my first Sue Grafton book and it's all thanks to you.Oh and apart from all that I enjoy coming here!

    Like

  4. >Happy Blogaversary! wow five years.Why do I read everyday? to see what someone a similar age is doing with their life and with you, what you see is what you get.I'd prefer the proper book version please.Josie x

    Like

  5. >Happy Blogaversary! I'm very glad you started blogging because otherwise, how would I have met you and been able to actually meet you in PERSON in ENGLAND? That was so cool… πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. >Happy Blogaversary to you.I'm a writer. Do I need to say more? All right I will…lol.I enjoy reading your blog and sharing the ups and downs of your writing life, Diane, because it is wonderful to know we are sharing the same journey. It is like we are part of our own online writing circle. We are there to support each other in our hour of need.Good luck with your writing and I have award for you.

    Like

  7. >Thank you, Jarmara. I think it helps when we realise we're all in the same boat and not alone.An award? For me? Thank you. I'll bob along and take a look. Think I need to be on a pc first though as the mobile phone often crashes soon as I leave this blog.

    Like

  8. >Happy Blogaversary! I enjoy reading your blog everyday because we have similar interests in the great outdoors and obviously writing! Looking forward to reading the next 5 years!

    Like

  9. >Thank you, Lori. I'm getting too tall to be a dancer, that's for sure. (That's what I was going to be.) (Before the I-want-to-be-a-nurse part.)

    Like

  10. >Happy Blogaversary my ansome, thats in Cornish, I followed your blog cos I like your photos, they are so good I feel as though I'm there with ya, keep it up Diane!!

    Like

  11. >Congrats on 5 years! I think I first came to your blog when I was considering being a writer – I think I found you through Kate Hardy. Nowadays I am not at all serious about writing but I hope maybe one day I will be. I love reading about your planning and organisation – as a list writer I love seeing how other people organise themselves!

    Like

  12. >Thank you, Kate. It's a shame you're not thinking so strongly of the writing any longer, but I think you have plenty to be thinking of anyway at the moment.

    Like

Comments are closed.