>Bradfield Dale

>I had a great weekend so far.

I collected my new telly Friday night on my way home, had an argument with everyone in Tesco because they’d put the price up by £20, then bought it anyway because Argos had put their price up by £20 too and at least I would get double clubcard points at Tesco, which is the equivalent of about £8 off my grocery shopping. It was really easy to set up and so far everything works, other than the Wii, which may work, I just didn’t test it yet.

A mad rush followed because I was going out for my birthday, but I got there just before the band went on, we had a lovely chat in the break, and then those of us in the naughty corner had lots of fun dancing.

Saturday was FA Cup day, Portsmouth v Birmingham City and Fulham v Tottenham Hotspur. I wasn’t bothered about the latter London derby, and that was a goal-less draw anyway, so they’re replaying midweek, but I did want Birmingham to win, but they lost. Good for Portsmouth, though, as the team is in financial dire straits at the moment, facing relegation as well, and getting to Wembley will be a real boost to both morale and the coffers.

This morning dawned bright and gorgeous and sunny and crisp and clear, and I finally pulled on my walking shoes and went walking around Bradfield Dale just north of Sheffield. I walked for 2 hours, stopping all the while to look at the view, take pictures, read the map, and catch my breath (on the steep bits), did 6,882 steps, burned 206 k-calories, and covered 4.12km or 2.5 miles (it’s billed as 3 miles in the book).

When I got back, the Reading v Aston Villa FA Cub game had been going for 10 minutes and by the end of the 1st half, Villa were losing 2 – 0. The final score was Reading 2 – 4 Aston Villa, which I’m pleased about because at least one lot of Brummies has made it to the semi finals. Cup holders Chelsea are currently playing Stoke City and again I’d like the Midland team, Stoke, to win.

Here, then, are some of this morning’s pictures for your enjoyment.

This is where my walk started:

This is the Agden Reservoir, one of 4 reservoirs in the area:

Here is the same reservoir from a footpath leading to the church. It looks like I walked a long way:

The church in High Bradfield, which dates from the 15th century but has a 14th century tower:

This unusual house is situated next to the churchyard gates and was built in 1745 in order to deter potential body snatchers:

There are a lot of stone stiles on this walk, many are crumbled or not very secure, but this was quite a nice one:

This is the Annet Bridge:

And to prove I was there:

How blue is that sky?

You can see more pictures from Bradfield Dale here, and the rest of the Fishguard pictures are here. Enjoy.

8 thoughts on “>Bradfield Dale

  1. >Wow gorgeous photos from the walk. I'm wishing I was over there to enjoy Spring but I suppose I would be moaning if I was there. I like Autumn too so just need to enjoy that on this side of the world.

    Like

  2. >That looks like a lovely walk Diane. I come from North Wales originally and I often miss the hills (well without the steep slog up the ascent) but then I find the hidden delights down this way! Happy Birthday for last week. It's my birthday today so we are both Pisces?

    Like

  3. >Happy Birthday, Abi – I'll hop on over to yours to say so too. It's mine tomorrow, the 9th. I just started celebrating last Friday …I hate, hate, hate going uphill, but the views are nice when you get there and at least it's usually downhill all the way back.

    Like

Comments are closed.