>Tired

>I am so not looking forward to British Summer Time beginning. Not because of the climate or anything like that, but because I’ve been so tired recently, I only just caught up, and now I’ll have to start all over again in just under 2 weeks time. Perhaps I should start going to bed an hour earlier from now.

Today we have glorious sunshine, a sign that spring may finally be upon us. Winter has been long and drawn out this year. I’m only just seeing snowdrops now when normally they’d be going over to crocuses, which are only just poking through the cold, hard earth. We had no daffodils for Mothers’ Day this year – or no natural, wild ones – perhaps those will make it in time for Easter.

Today I’m proofing pdfs, proofing galleys, transcribing a tape, reading, entering weekly competitions. I didn’t do any fillers last week, but I did write down a list of different readers’ letters’ slants on the same basic subject. I ended up with 7 or 8, so if I get a minute, I may draft those up too. Readers’ letters and fillers are easy to do when you’re busy. They provide a distraction and a quick completion, so therefore a quick tick.

At the end of this month I have to take some time off. I have annual leave due and I need to work on the Voices book. So I’m taking at least the Easter fortnight this year. I’m going to treat myself to a nice Easter egg as I gave up chocolate for Lent, apart from hot chocolate and the birthday cake I got for myself. I don’t normally like chocolate cake, but maybe depriving myself of it for a few weeks meant I could enjoy it.

6 thoughts on “>Tired

  1. >Mm, chocolate. Yes, I could definitely do with some of that. I try to see it as a positive – it's good for my teeth, good for my waistline, good for the condition of my skin (I get chocolate zits). Just on my way to get a hot one now, though.

    Like

  2. >Just a quick note of thanks, Diane. I'm thrilled to win your contest! I look forward to devouring (reading, not eating) your book. I'm sure it'll be great!

    Like

  3. >You're very welcome – but please don't feel obliged to actually read it … :oDSeriously, it's going to feel a bit weird someone reading it that isn't an anonymous, faceless editor or someone I've known for years. I'm starting to feel a bit scared!

    Like

Comments are closed.