>Blimey

>I thought The Magic of Wilderness was history. It was a good exercise, because it got me writing again, but I wasn’t surprised that it wasn’t placed in the competition as it was a bit rushed. Only it was placed. I got a runners up prize. Not a monetary prize, granted, but a prize all the same. The exercise served its purpose and if it’s published, which it probably will be, there’s another publication in the port folio.

A good start to the day yesterday. I went on to submit another query – I’m on a roll – and 4 readers’ letters and fillers. This brings this week’s submissions to 13. And my internet came back up at lunch time. Blinkin’ ‘eck.

I had a really unhealthy but nice bacon, cheese and mushroom sandwich, followed by the last of the trifle, then walked up to the letterbox in the sunshine with Holly wondering whether or not to follow me. Domino was curled up fast asleep in the basket on the windowsill in front of my writing desk.

It seems I’m a morning person for I had an hour or so of faffing with things before heading off for a 5:15pm appointment at the hairdresser. I didn’t stay, though, as I’ve decided to let the hair grow out to its natural colour now, whatever that may be. Probably grey. I’ve got a lot of eczema along the hairline and I want to give my scalp a rest. I just wish I’d had the confidence to do it when I was skint as I’d’ve saved myself a fortune every month. It also gives me back 2 hours of my life every month.

The No Contacts, No Problem … book suggests identifying 50 possible markets for freelance material. Fifty?! Impossible, I thought. But when I rounded up what was lying around home and my office, I actually had 30, without really trying. So I want to find 20 more, including the daily and weekend newspaper supplements. It’s not as hard as it looks.

Reading all of these books is having an effect. This morning I woke with 3 article ideas in my head, 1 fully fleshed out, 1 partially fleshed out, and 1 just starting. First thing I did was write them in my writing journal so I didn’t lose them. Then I added 3 more that I believe are virtually ready to go, but not written down anywhere yet. So I wrote them down.

I’m certainly exercising that muscle – now all I need to do is start exercising that bum glue.

I think I passed another crime scene unfolding on my drive in to work this morning. One of the 2 tattoo studios had several police vehicles outside, the door was open (they don’t exactly do office hours in tattoo studios), and there were people milling around in white SOCO suits. I’m going to have to do some investigation to see what that’s all about, but it’s given me a dim flicker of an idea …

Today is my last day in the office for a fortnight, my sister’s coming tomorrow so I want to Hoover the house and get the spare room ready, we’re going to see Freddie Starr tomorrow night, then I have Sunday evening from teatime in Castleford for 2 gigs. I also still want to think about that baking.

I’m resisting chocolate. But it’s starting to hurt …

11 thoughts on “>Blimey

  1. >You are so inspiring! Muttie is very impressed with your enthusiasm and ability to come up with ideas ALL the time. She's just getting back into freelancing herself and so far this week, she's only had two ideas. Hmmm….And she's always reading instead of writing. I fear for my next treat.Milton x

    Like

  2. >I'm impressed as ever. Leaving your hair to return to its natural colour is scary,but if you don't like it you can always change it. The ideas are realy flowing thick fast for you, thats great.

    Like

  3. >I feel like an ideas factory at the moment, Devon. But I'm loving it.The chocolate craving is getting worse … I may have to give in as I'm doing the shopping on my way home from work again.

    Like

  4. >Hello to you, Milton, and welcome. I must get Holly and Domino to chat to you. :o)Thank you for your kind words. As I said to Devon, I never have a problem with ideas and I don't understand when some people say they don't know what to write about, and I often say, here have one of mine. Take several. Please.Nothing wrong with reading. I do it all the time.x

    Like

  5. >The hair thing is something I've been thinking about since before Christmas, Carol. I know I'll have a grey "cap" but I think the rest is still very dark blonde (or lightish brown). But it is a confidence thing.

    Like

  6. >Oh, ok Auntie Diane, give me some of your ideas and I'll pass them on to Muttie (Gawd knows, she could do with a jolt up her backside).She says 'thanks v much' by the way for the book recommendation (believe me, the Muttie woman needs all the help she can get!)Yours, in treat-anticipation, The Milt…miooooow x

    Like

  7. >This is written under duress…Muttie says, it's ok, she won't steal your ideas Auntie Diane. She just feels it's comforting to know there's another freelance journo out there hitting the market same as her. And she's impressed you've ventured into fiction. She's kinda scared to do that…

    Like

  8. >No, really. I do give ideas away – search the blog and you should find 2 ideas giveaways at the start of the year. :-)I started out writing short fiction, when there was a huge market. I turned out to be a natural journalist, though, and moved over once I discovered I could. I kept dabbling in fiction, though, and I personally think the market is returning, just under a different guise. The book is by a personal friend but it's also an excellent resource.

    Like

Comments are closed.