>A proppa ryta

>For the next 2 weeks I’m going to be a “proppa ryta”. I’m working from home and while I’m mostly going to be working on Voices from the Dearne Valley, I’m also going to be doing other things a busy, successful freelance writer should be doing.

The washing machine was fixed, but by the time I’d cleared up after the flood, I was shattered, filthy, and not in the mood to go out. I’d also spent at least the whole month’s budgeted “pocket money” on just the repair. So I stayed in. What caused the problem? The rubber backing on the bathroom mats chose this wash to disintegrate – and I’ve machine washed them loads of times before and never had a problem.

Hundreds of bits of rubber ended up in the drum, in the tubes, in the pipework, in the pump, in the filter … and now it’s all over my yard. I decided it would be easier to sweep up when it dried, but we’ve had rain. I’m going to get a gauze laundry bag and next time I wash anything with a rubber backing, it’s going in the laundry bag first. The machine might have coped were it not for a 2p coin jamming the outlet.

I struggled with the hour loss this morning, as I knew I would. So, for the next fortnight I’m going to make sure I’m in bed by 10:30pm, and every day this week I’m going to get up 30 minutes earlier. By next week, hopefully, I’ll be able to get used to getting up at 6am every day so that by the time I get back to the day job I can do an extra hour before work every day.

Because I’m working at home I want to walk up to the village every day to get the blood and oxygen moving, so as part of the being a freelance, I’m going to buy at least a broadsheet newspaper, a tabloid newspaper, and a magazine every day. This could be deemed as extravagant, but it’s an investment. I only have to sell one letter or filler to pay for my newspapers and magazines for a month, and one article to pay for several months.

We have snow forecast on Wednesday, but as I’m working from home that won’t bother me. I have a full fridge, a full freezer, and a full pantry. I don’t know why everyone’s panicking/moaning/exclaiming about it as I’ve seen snow in June in this country several times. It’s NORMAL for this time of year. The crocuses are just going over and the daffodils are just coming out, so they’re late, but the weather is NORMAL.

Plan for today, then:

  1. walk up to village for newspapers/magazines
  2. install tape transcription hardware/software onto laptop
  3. 1 hour on the gig list
  4. transcribe at least 1 interview
  5. send out a call for photographs for Voices book
  6. market study
  7. write and submit at least 1 query or letter or filler
4 thoughts on “>A proppa ryta

Comments are closed.