>Day one down

>The temperature is a bit all over the place at the moment. I’m finding working in the bedroom, whether in the corner at the computer or under the window at the desk, very chilly and I’m putting the heating on early as a result. Then, when I settle down for the evening to watch telly or read, I’m switching the heating off as it’s far too hot. Closing the bedroom door helps, but then you can pretty much guarantee that previously comatose cats get their fidget boots on.

It means more hot drinks and I’m getting through tea like there’s no tomorrow. I wish there were a way to keep hot tea on tap without it stewing, but even when I take the teabags out, it still thickens. I’ve switched to instant coffee during the afternoon, although that seems to be going down at an alarming rate now too.

I think I’m doing okay, though. Yesterday I achieved the following on my first day of being a freelance writer for a fortnight:

  1. daily blog
  2. updated gig list
  3. sent out a call for photographs for the Voices book
  4. walked up to village and bought The Guardian, The Daily Mail (okay, it’s a compact rather than a tabloid), and Yours
  5. studied the new markets
  6. wrote then sent letter + pic to magazine (worth £75)
  7. sent previously unsuccessful letter + pic to alternative magazine (worth £50)
  8. resubmitted elsewhere article rejected at the weekend (worth £100)
  9. updated freelance submissions record
  10. installed tape transcription hardware and software to laptop
  11. started to transcribe 1 (very long) interview for Voices book
  12. 1 hour on the gig list for April

I burned out just around the 5pm mark, so took a break, made a crisp (potato chip) sandwich, followed by hot apple crumble, and did some work on Catch the Rainbow. I had noodles for supper and read for a while before properly calling it a day.

Plan for today includes:

  1. walk up to village for newspapers/magazines
  2. 1 hour on the gig list
  3. finish transcribing very long interview for Voices book
  4. market study
  5. write and submit at least 1 query or letter or filler
  6. 1 hour proofing Night Crawler galleys
4 thoughts on “>Day one down

  1. >So is Henry settling in at Baggy Bottoms? Sounds like you've got a good couple of weeks planned. Must say I was very jealous of your visit to Hardwick Hall etc (still catching up). I'm really desperate to go there having read Bess's story. Not many weeks to go before I finsh…I know I'll start making lists of ideas…now I wonder where that came from? Have fun.

    Like

  2. >Ha ha ha – I think listmania is catching. You know where I am if you need any tips. :o)Henry isn't out of the box yet, he only arrived just before noon. I'm sure he'll fit in well, though.

    Like

  3. >You're on fire!I love crisp sandwiches, my preferred being with a slab of cheddar cheese underneath the crisps. And it helps when the crisps are spicy Nik Naks, too. 🙂

    Like

  4. >I'm eating a lot of junk at the moment, but that could be the "holiday" feeling.On fire? I wish I could feel some of the heat during the day while I'm working. :o)

    Like

Comments are closed.