>Tax return

>I’d got the day planned nicely, and I even walked up to the village to post some letters and pick up a paper. But when the post came it brought with it my tax return. I’ve not needed one of these for a few years and we had cancelled them, but last year when the tax office checked with me, I said I would be needing one this time. That’s good. It means I earned extra money during the last tax year, and it came automatically.

Normally, and for years and years when I’ve been completing one of these annually, I’ve done my income and expenses as I’ve gone along. But as I’ve not had to do it for a few years this time, it came as a bit of a shock to the system.

I had kept the majority of my receipts because I anticipated filling in my tax return this year, but I’d not kept bank statements. So I printed off the last year’s worth of bank statements that had business expenses on them, and then it took much of the day to sit and go through, listing them month by month, and raising internal invoices for money that came through automatically.

There’s still the official form to complete, but once I have my records up to date, that’s the easy part. I’ll get it done and sent off in the next few days – 6 months early.

It was a lovely day. When I wasn’t walking up to the village, the back door was open so the sunshine could stream into the kitchen. I even got the blankets out of the outdoor kennel and gave them a wash. They dried nicely on the line.

A freebie arrived in the post, I don’t know if everyone had one, but the food agency (or someone) sent me a wipeable magnetic meal planner for the fridge with a magnetic pen. So it’s, um, on my fridge, duly completed for this week. If everybody didn’t get one, it must have been another runners up prize in a competition.

I couldn’t get any of the weekly papers yesterday (although the South Yorkshire Times should be out on a Thursday), but I know something has gone in one of them as I had a phone call this morning. I’m going to do the shopping today, so I’ll try again, then tonight I’m off out to see a band I’ve not seen before at my member club.

It’s my last week day before being back at work next week, so in between shopping and going out I’m going to see what asks me to be done before deciding what to do.

10 thoughts on “>Tax return

  1. >we've had a meal planner through too!Tax returns: when I was self employed, hubby's cousin is an accountant so he did the paperwork for me.Josie x

    Like

  2. >I'm crawling back to the land of the living and catching up again. Trying on a pair of trousers 2 sizes too small gives a whole new meaning to baggy bottoms! I have my tax return to do, you have the right idea Diane, do it now and get it out of the way then it can be forgotten about. What a lovely weekend we've had, hope this is the promise of things to come. Anyway, not just a blogger but a BEAUTIFUL blogger, as my grandson would say 'how cool is that'. Thanks for the commentator mention…I'd be scared of boring everyone to death if I blogged…mind you I always see life as an adventure and I have a new one on the way very soon. Take care

    Like

  3. >Devon: Mine were like that when I went from full time employed to full time self employed. Now I do a bit of both, it's simplified with both lots of pages and I can have the tax taken from my PAYE job if I want. Good luck.

    Like

  4. >Melissa: Obviously I have no idea what it's like to file taxes in the US, but ours used to be very confusing and they've been simplified for several years now. But when they were so unnecessarily complicated, I simply replicated my own spreadsheets in the way their fields were set out.

    Like

  5. >Josie: I think the paperwork is really easy. I just hadn't kept on top of it this year. If you do it as you go along, I think it's a doddle. And it's one of the jobs I'll do for folk too.

    Like

  6. >Carol: Glad you're starting to feel better. And are you finishing this month too? Try blogging and let everyone decide for themselves if it's boring. :o) Then you can delete it.

    Like

Comments are closed.