>Mobile fiasco

>Amid much pomp and hype, my mobile phone company launched their new super-duper, all singing all dancing, faster than the speed of light, betterer than anyone else’s service yesterday evening … and they managed to crash the entire network, causing texts to go undelivered, messages to be sent to tons of customers telling them they’d reached their limit and would be disconnected if they continued to use their phones, and their mobile internet to crash.

So if I’ve not replied to a text of yours, I’ve either not received it or the reply is floating in the ether.

This morning the system is still very unstable and mobile internet intermittent at best.

On top of this, Facebook is also undergoing one of its ongoing upgrades and it’s managed to wipe several of my actions, including where I’ve “liked” something, and where I’ve commented.

I hate technology at times. Or it hates me.

So I went to the doctor first thing, and she couldn’t do much for me beyond refer me for a consultation regarding getting the ganglion removed and arrange for a full blood test. I’m having the blood checked Monday morning, and the ganglion looked at one Wednesday afternoon in May. Apparently they’re still knocking people out for ganglion removal, but even if they agree to just a local (which my mom had when she had a lump removed from her neck), I still have to have someone go with me. For the op, not the consultation.

I have another appointment this evening at 5:15pm and now I’m wondering what to do with myself between then and now. I can never, ever settle to anything when other things are going on or if I’m waiting for something/someone.

Maybe I’ll go sit downstairs with pen, pad and reading book.

8 thoughts on “>Mobile fiasco

  1. >At least you live in a civilized country with healthcare.Definitely take someone with you. Even with just a local, you'll want someone else to get you home.Best wishes.Every time there's an "upgrade", it's a mess for at least two weeks.

    Like

  2. >Diane, the way they used to deal with ganglion is with a Bible. They didn't pray it away – they whacked it. I wouldn't recommend it, but it's funny how medical care used to be viewed, isn't it?Hugs to you. It'll all be better soon. Must have been the day for technology headaches – I was minus email all day yesterday. Damn you, Verizon!

    Like

  3. >Hope the day has gone well so far. I'm enjoying my first day as unemployed. Spent the morning at the gym (virtuous) and spent the afternoon looking at the OU website. I'm very interested in an 'open degree', mainly as the degree will be purely for my own interest. I'm thinking it will be mainly history and literature of course with some creative writing and philosophy thrown in. I'm so excited.I'm also checking out various groups such as ramblers etc.What're we doing? Where're we going? I'm soooo excited.But, you take care and have a good weekend.P.S The short story is coming along also….wow.

    Like

  4. >I agree with Lori – crack it with the Good Book, preferably after half a bottle of Scotch! In case you do it and end up in hospital as a result anyway, I have transferred all my wealth to my wife so you can't sue me! Good luck with the results.XX

    Like

  5. >Lori: So far I've been offered the bible treatment twice, the hammer treatment twice, the big book treatment once, and the knife once.

    Like

Comments are closed.