>Feng shui for the soul

>One of the jobs on my to do list yesterday was to tidy my desk at work. I really cannot stand working in a mess and people often think I’m doing nothing because my desk space is so clear. Piles of magazines had accumulated, as well as piles of paperwork – I don’t use trays because they just pile up too. If I keep it to the desk top, the theory is I’ll put it away before I get fed up of it. But I got fed up of it and it was blocking me. So the first job I did was tidy my desk.

Now I want to tidy my office. I have boxes of magazines all over the floor and on my meeting table. If I want a proper meeting at the moment in my office, we do it at my desk, because clearing the table will be too much of an operation. I think I’ll do the office a bit at a time, for example, take the used printer cartridge to the recycling skip next time I go out – it’s only been on the table for the entire year so far.

Mess blocks me. Clutter blocks me. That cramped diary blocked me. Now my feng shui is good and getting better again.

I got through my edits (hurray!), but I suspect there may be a few more as the designers progress through the project (boo!). Lots of pages are complete, though, and they look brilliant. I can hardly wait to see some more, and it was a nice big tick on the to do list.

The weather was warm at the start of the week, too warm but okay because we could get out of it. As the week progressed, it got cooler, but now it’s clammy. I’ve been smelling rain every morning but it hasn’t come, so now I’m hoping we have a storm brewing along with the clouds that have tumbled in. If we get a storm, I won’t feel so bad about not going walking on Sunday.

Tonight I’m off out to a gig for the first time in AGES. I’m at my member club to see 2 of my favourite bands that feature 2 of my nicest friends, who happen to be identical twins but each plays in a different band. I have other good friends in the bands too, so tonight is going to be a real treat. Tomorrow it’s chores, chores, chores, then the pictures on Sunday morning.

10 thoughts on “>Feng shui for the soul

  1. >I was busy painting my chair project when I thought I felt a few drops of rain but nothing has materialised so far. Went on a lovely evening ramble around Scout Dike yesterday evening. The weir is still empty but the water is very low. Loads of lovely wild flowers around. Enjoy this evening and have a great weekend, apparently Sunday may be very warm.

    Like

  2. >I went around Scout Dyke in the rain a couple of weekends ago and thought the water level was still very low.You have a good weekend too – I've heard from several sources that it's going to be a cracker, so maybe being inside (for the pictures and the footie) is a good idea.

    Like

  3. >Love the title of the post!I can't work on a clear desk, although sometimes I let it get too far. If I put something away, it means it's done, so I need to keep current projects in front of my face.

    Like

  4. >Ooh, I can't work in clutter at all – at the desk, in the diary, at home, in the garden shed (when I have/had one), anywhere. I think it overwhelms me.Glad you liked the post title. ;o)

    Like

  5. >Someone once said that a tidy desk was a sign of a sick mind. Now it may be that I am a little biased, my desk not being the tidiest in the world, but the space is MINE along with two plants, three stress spunges (a tardis, a healthy heart and a ball) tray of sweets for visitors, a nail file, assorted pens and writing equipment and all the other usual office bumph along with loads of papers and unread magazines in plastic wrappers.Hope you've had a good weekend?XX

    Like

Comments are closed.