>The best laid plans

>My weekend was pretty fantastic, as weekends go. Another busy-ish one, but one where I felt I hadn’t wasted any of it.

On Friday I got to Bellhouse Road WMC on time to see one of my favourite bands, The Rakkiteers, play the first set. Friday night is rock night at Bellhouse, and these are more punky, but I loved them and so did a lot of other people. Second set was the billed band, TopGun, who have just hired a new guitarist … who is one of my mates from another band. So I wanted to give him a bit of moral support, plus it was the first time I’d seen the keys player with this band, despite seeing him with several others. The club was full for both sets and it was nice to catch up with everyone.

Saturday was a bit of a chill day, a bit of a chores day, and a shopping day. I did really well budget-wise, coming £3 under budget on the shopping, £3 under budget on “home and garden” (bird food), and 30p under budget on petrol. I watched a really bad film about dragons, but somehow stuck it to the end (curiosity, I suppose, to see if it got any better – it didn’t), I watched a bit of CSI NY (series 3 – we’re waaaaayyyyy behind the times over here), then turned over to watch a Specials concert recorded in 1999 and a Sex Pistols concert recorded in 2007. Good chill evening.

On Sunday I was up bright and early to collect the Bellhouse Buddy from home. She was coming to The Karate Kid preview with me … but we couldn’t find the right car park, and then she couldn’t find the cinema. By the time we got there it was soooo busy they were turning people away … so we shopped. I was very good, I only bought 2 books and kept within my monthly budget for CDs/DVDs/books/games (a whopping 2p under budget). We had whipped ice cream with a flake and juice, then we went back to hers for a chinwag. I dashed home for the 3pm kick-off … and really, really, really, really wish I hadn’t bothered. Well done to Germany for knocking us out 4 – 1 (although we all think it was really 4 – 2).

I had a banging headache after the match – think it was all that noise – so went to bed for an hour. Sunday evening I batch-cooked cheese & bacon pasta and watched more CSI (the original and Miami, series 5 and series 3 respectively), and I had an early night.

Today I’m at home. I started the morning with a 40 minute workout to Hannah Waterman’s interval training DVD, then I did a washing workout (I need to step up to the line, remember), and I climbed onto the Wii to check my fitness and balance. I’ve not been on it since January, so I got a good telling off by the little Wii thing. However, I’m delighted to report that I have a Wii-Fit age of 34 – that’s 12 years younger than me. I guess that’s all the walking and the washing workouts I do. I was shattered after the DVD and had to resort to walking on the spot in some places. I suppose the next step up will be marching on the spot. Ultimately, I’ll be able to keep up with them all.

I now have my Wii-Aquarium playing on the telly, along with a selection of classical music. So I’ve brought the laptop down to the kitchen table so I can listen to the music while I work. There’s a lovely breeze blowing through the back door bead curtain.

Main jobs today are the gig list and Night Crawler proofs, and later there will be another washing workout when I fetch it in. (That step sometimes kills my thighs.)

10 thoughts on “>The best laid plans

  1. >Sounds like a good weekend providing we don't mention the football. Our house was totally depressive after the game. One question, what's a washing workout?

    Like

  2. >Ha ha – I call it a workout because I can't reach the washing line when it's empty or lightweight, so have to use a step. I have a step workout every time I hang washing out or fetch it in.

    Like

  3. >"Specials concert recorded in 1999" — need more info! The band never got back together until 2008 so I'm intrigued, very intrigued, to know what it was that was broadcast. Neville Staple's band? Or something with Dammers?

    Like

  4. >Ah, now. It was fixed in my head that the gig was from 1999 but I just checked The Radio Times and it doesn't list a date, just the venue – Wolverhampton – and I think it was Christmas cos they said so as they launched into Enjoy Yourself. However, the Blur concert that was on before *does* say 1999. Maybe that's where I got it from. I *do* know it was a classic lineup, and Terry Hall dunnarf look like Frankie Howerd.

    Like

  5. >Not really bothered about Englands exit because one quick phone call to my sister and low and behold, a Great Uncle Rodriguez has come to my rescue on the family tree, so stuff you Gringo's, us Portuguese are still in the cup. It's off to ebay for a red and green shirt, come on Ronaldo…might also buy a Brazilian one just in case!!!

    Like

  6. >I was shocked they even got through. But the surprise was short-lived when we drew Germany.I can't even claim my Italian ancestry for this one. They went home before we did.

    Like

Comments are closed.