>Barnsley –> Ullswater

>I’d had such a busy day on Thursday that I was exhausted by the time I fell into bed. That didn’t necessarily mean a restful night, though – or not at first. Things kept running through my head, like did I pack the camera usb? should I leave the key in the front door in case my sister comes early? and so on. Finally, though, I did fall into a deep sleep and I got up at 8:50am.

There were still a few jobs to be done, like change my bed, pack the car, pack the food, write instructions for the cat food, etc. My sister was running a little late because my nephew was coming back to Sheffield with her (he was graduating on the Wednesday I was going to be away), but when they got to mine, we had a cuppa, a chinwag, I showed her the Wii Fit, told her where to find everything.

Finally at around 2pm I headed off, first to the M1 (drizzle), then to the M62 (glorious sunshine), the M60, and the M6 (raving mad traffic). It was Friday afternoon, the M6 was doing its impression of the biggest car park in the country, by the time I got through it I was ready for a rest, and an ice cream. So I stopped for 20 minutes.

I reached my destination at around 5:30pm where my hostess was waiting to greet me and show me around. The cottage is lovely, just like home from home with everything I could possibly need – apart from internet, but that was deliberate.

Here then is what my cottage, Robin’s Nest, looks like:

The small but perfectly adequate kitchenette:

A lovely, comfortable lounge, with Freeview on the telly and a DVD too:

My bedroom for the duration:

The owners’ garden that those hiring a cottage are permitted to share:

While I had my tea I glanced up to see my nearest neighbours:

I took photographs before I made the place untidy, grabbed a bite to eat, watched some telly, and had an early night.

10 thoughts on “>Barnsley –> Ullswater

  1. >Carol: I didn't think I'd got much done at all … and then I just added up everything I did do for the last entry and I was quite pleased. :oD

    Like

  2. >Nidge: Email me, either from the profile page here or the email address on Facebook, or message me on Facebook. I'd certainly recommend the cottages if you're thinking of going. There are 3 of them and this one was the smallest, although I think one is temporarily closed due to small maintenance. Took me 3.5 hours to get there in Friday afternoon traffic (from here, so another 1.5 hours for you), but only 2.5 hours coming home on Sunday.

    Like

Comments are closed.