>Interlude

>I interrupt this travelogue to bring you today’s update. Watch out for 2 posts per day for the next 10 days.

How many days’ worth of words and pictures did I accumulate in the end? I could only limit it to 10 pictures max per day because Blogger goes a bit daft otherwise. So you’ll be getting Lake District posts for the next 10 days – the first is beneath this post.

I had such good intentions this morning. I’d filled in my diary with various segments of work – work and household related – but when I finally dragged myself out of bed (isn’t your own bed always great the first night back?), I just didn’t feel much like doing anything. I’d uploaded most of the words and pictures last night, but there were still a few things to do, and I finally got everything done – including 2 washloads, and then it rained before I could hang them out – by about midday.

Ah yes, I also had a sort of “rejeptance” … I’d fired a short story off to a new market to me, the fiction editor of which everyone seems to love. I received an email this morning asking me to resubmit it later in the year as it’s a Christmas story … Now, is that good or is it bad? Surely she would have said if she hated it.

My dilemma now is, I wrote a bonfire night story specifically for another magazine I have had lots published in before, I was just waiting for the call for bonfire night submissions (some will know who I mean here). That call also arrived in my in box while I was away.

So, do I send the new market the bonfire night story meanwhile, while I’m still fresh in her mind, or do I fire it straight out to the magazine I wrote it for? If the magazine I’ve written for before responded a little quicker, it wouldn’t be an issue. Either way, I think I’ll crack on with one of the stories I started last week and get that off to the potential new market ASAP. Of course, I’ll email her a reply, thanking her for her time and saying yes of course I can resubmit it. But I want to be able to send her something very soon – I think she must at least like something about my writing.

I printed off the latest contributors’ guidelines for My Weekly (fiction, long and short, and non-fiction) and Woman’s Weekly (fiction, long and short), but for the rest of the day I didn’t feel like doing much. Anyway, I’m still “on holiday”, and as I was quite pleased with the final list of what I achieved while I was away, I thought I deserved the rest of the day off.

2 thoughts on “>Interlude

  1. >Send the story first to the market originally targeted. Sit down and write a new story for this other editor, send it off next week, while you're still fresh in her mind. Think of it as a deadline.Good luck!

    Like

  2. >Yes, we did a brainstorm on Facebook last night and I came up with 3 ideas for autumn stories, with a 4th bubbling up this morning. Previously, I also fired off the aformentioned email thanking her for giving me the opportunity to resubmit.And yes, Devon, please give me a deadline. :o) (Some people know me too well.) I gave myself a deadline really … :oD

    Like

Comments are closed.