>Dunmallard Hill

>YESTERDAY’S REGULAR UPDATE BENEATH THIS ONE.

Tuesday was very much a writing day. I worked solidly and by the end of the day I’d outlined:

• 5 articles
• 3 readers’ letters
• 2 short stories
• 1 short novel(la)

I’d also written 963 words of Catch the Rainbow.

Wednesday morning the sun started to peep through and I decided to go out walking in order to make the most of the good weather.

I parked up, once again, at Pooley Bridge in my now-regular parking spot next to St Paul’s Church. Then I headed off on a 2 mile walk up Dunmallard Hill, adding a bit more distance to my total by starting at the other end of the village to the planned walk.

We’d had so much rain and so many storms I wasn’t surprised to see a recent casualty at the start of my walk:

The guide warns that views aren’t quite how they were at the top due to the dense growth of trees, so I was glad to get a peek of Ullswater on my way up:

My well-defined path through the trees:

I do think there should be something to say you’ve reached the summit, but I supposed this was it. And they’re right, you can hardly see the lake through the trees when they’re in full leaf like this:

The path down the other side of the hill is quite defined too:

Diane Parkin modelling Hawkshead in Patterdale – I actually quite like this picture:

Dunmallard Hill – I walked up that:

Heading back down towards the River Eamont:

Oh look, people:

A moody-looking – and full-looking – River Eamont:

I was quite proud of myself as I don’t often do hills, and I managed this one in 65 minutes when the book suggests an hour.

In Pooley Bridge I paid a fortune for a roast Cumberland ham sandwich, did a bit more shopping for the cottage, and carried on up the hill towards Martindale and Hallin Fell.

4 thoughts on “>Dunmallard Hill

  1. >Devon: The trees are great, aren't they? They weren't there in Victorian days when the hill was fashionable and famous as a viewing point.

    Like

Comments are closed.