>Hallin Fell

>After a hairy drive up an alpine road between Howtown and Martindale, I parked up at St Peter’s Church. Hallin Fell is best reached by “steamer” or other boat (although the pier belongs to Ullswater “steamers”), as the road is a dead end after Martindale and many a motorist has found difficulty on the steep, zigzags. But I’d already done the boat thing, so I drove.

Hallin Fell is one of around 2,010 “Marilyn”s in Britain, which according to Wikipedia (so I’m not swearing as gospel) is a hill or “mountain” over 150m (492 feet). The term was allegedly coined in ironic response to the 283 “Munro”s, which are summits (rather than individual mountains) in Scotland over 3,000 feet.

Most people know that I don’t do big hills, so Dunmallard Hill, at 105m (345 feet), was quite the achievement. I had no intention of climbing Hallin Fell, but I did want to take a look at it.

So I parked up at St Peter’s Church while I ate lunch:

And I looked at Hallin Fell:

And I decided to go up it a little bit, if only to get some nice pictures:

I took a picture of the car to gauge how far I got – it’s the third from the bottom, the white car:

And I thought there were far too many paths to choose from anyway:

I love this picture of a sheep because I didn’t realise I’d snapped a grumpy crow as well:

Before I knew it, the car was miles away – you can still see it, it’s the bright white glow:

There are lots of cairns to take a rest on – I wonder who starts these, and how they start them?

I love this picture too, the way the lamb’s looking at me with curiosity:

I didn’t make it to the top, but guess who has a new desktop background on her laptop:

It’s a shame, it would have been so nice to say I’d bagged my first Marilyn. But I really don’t do big hills, I’d already dressed my foot from the morning’s walk, my heart and lungs felt as though they’d explode with every 10 steps I took upwards, and the sun was so strong by now and I was up there without any protection.

Hallin Fell will be there another day, and so will I if I can avoid skin cancer and heart failure. I really am out of condition (perhaps I should do a few more little hills), and there’s one picture from this afternoon’s stroll I’m NOT sharing. When I get home I start my diet and this picture will well and truly be my BEFORE shot.

Back at the cottage I wasn’t very hungry at all, had a much-needed hot soak to keep my muscles loose, watched an old Midsomer Murders, and had another early night.

6 thoughts on “>Hallin Fell

  1. >Devon: I think it's a hangover from the days of the Vikings. I think it's a word they used to describe mountain – or it derives from a word they used to describe mountain.

    Like

Comments are closed.