>Aira Force

>Thursday was another day in the cottage. I played another computer game from start to finish but also wrote up another 1,775 words of blog notes and uploaded and referenced another 37 pictures. (There are 4 “another”s in that paragraph – tut, tut Diane.)

Friday was glorious, so I packed a bag and headed off to Aira Force. It was also pay day, so I filled up with petrol, picked up another handful of groceries from Pooley Bridge a souvenir for my kitchen, and grabbed a small shoulder bag for when I’m doing these very short walks and only need a bottle of water, the camera and my mobile phone.

At Aira Force I re-joined the National Trust. I used to be in the Trust a long time ago but let it lapse when I moved to Yorkshire because there are hardly any properties within a short driving distance. I’ve decided, though, that it’s worth a run out and being a member will give me plenty of places to see and visit. It didn’t cost me anything yet, I set up a direct debit to come out in 28 days, but I had a half unexpected bonus in my pay packet (it was double what we thought it would be and they’d warned it may not make it to July’s pay packet, but it did), and wanted to see a little something for it. So I re-joined the National Trust and got out of paying £5 for the car park too.

There are lots of walks around and from Aira Force but I just wanted to see the waterfall again. It really is lovely.

Here, then, is Aira Beck:

This is what’s known as a “money tree”. People hammer in a coin with a stone (or a hammer, if they just happen to have one), and make a wish:

Here is a close up of what the tree looks like. Most people use copper, you can tell from the colour it’s all gone:

Part way up the path we got a peek of Ullswater, and I couldn’t have got a better picture than this if I’d tried – I didn’t even see that steamer, let alone position it so well, it’s a complete fluke:

Here is the bridge at the top of Aira Force:

And here she is, in all her glory:

This is the bridge at the bottom of Aira Force:

And here’s another “she” in all her glory:

This is a terrific tree, it looks like an elephant:

Back at the beginning, or the end, and Aira Beck again:

I stayed in the car park at Aira Force to have lunch and use the facilities, and then headed over towards Haweswater to see the golden eagle. On the way I tried to find what looks like an old Roman settlement, Celleron. I could see a Roman road on the map and what looks like a ruined building or foundations or footings, but when you drive past, you can see nothing.

8 thoughts on “>Aira Force

  1. >'Another' great day. I've really enjoyed following you around the area. It's lovely.P.S. The chickens finally rewarded me with some eggs today. I was for changing their names to Roast, Kiev, Chasseur and Au Vin.

    Like

  2. >I'm going to look at renting a property from them in the future now I have another cat sitter. When I rent a cottage, I can at least look for pets welcome even if I choose to go somewhere they're not allowed in the end.

    Like

  3. >Thats the nice thing about 17 year olds, they don't want to come on holiday with you anymore, rather go to Sonisphere instead…can't understand why!!! The upside…instant cat sitters!

    Like

Comments are closed.