>Ravenfield Park

>Last Sunday morning I drove over to Rotherham to go on a short walk around Ravenfield Park. It was trying to rain and midday by the time I got there. I nearly didn’t bother changing my shoes as I’d gone in regular jeans, but I thought the easy walks might be the best way to stop the walking shoes rubbing so much.

The walk is a doorstep walk from Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council, and it starts at the parish church of St James in the village of Ravenfield. Well, I decided I’d quite like to visit the church too, not just start there:

The village of Ravenfield dates back to the Domesday Book, but there is no evidence of a church here at that time. However, there are records of births, deaths and marriages going back to 1563, but historians believe there was an earlier register that has since been lost.

The church opened not long after I arrived and I was invited inside to take a picture:

The warden also said that if any groups would like to start or finish a walk here, or even drop by in the middle of a walk, if they contacted them beforehand, they’d arrange for the church to be open and would make coffee. I thought that was a lovely gesture, and very community-spirited.

Then I joined the walk at the start of the path down to Ravenfield Park, which is described as a stone stile … I don’t think so:

I love it when you can see the path:

A field of wheat – this would make another one of my jigsaws:

Where the path joins a small road:

Ravenfield Park was once a deer park in the 15th century. During WW2 it was used as a training ground for the army, when much devastation was caused due to explosives, and then later as a prisoner of war camp. It was rescued in 1972, since when the members of the angling club have raised £750,000 to restore the park to how it looks today. There are parking places, but only for members. The public is, however, permitted to walk around:

I’m glad I did put my walking shoes on as the path was a bit muddy in places and slightly hard work in others – underfoot, I mean. Every time I walked down a flight of steps like this I knew I’d only have to climb up again:

Wild poppy meadow:

Another view of one of the ponds:

The walk was roughly 1½ miles and it took me just over an hour.

6 thoughts on “>Ravenfield Park

  1. >What a lovely walk and such an interesting place. I haven't heard of it before, but then I don't know Rotherham at all. Still planning a rest day tomorrow? Enjoy.

    Like

  2. >If you look at the link to Life After Money in my side bar, Ilona goes on lots of bigger, better walks than I do. But I think the shorter walks should be publicised more to get people out and about more. It's easier to fit in a short walk than it is to fit in an adventure.

    Like

Comments are closed.