>Full steam ahead

>Okay, it’s been a bit of a nightmare, but I finally got there with the magazine. With all the chopping and changing, and with us being so strict on refusing submissions more than 2 weeks beyond deadline this time (start as we mean to go on), my 32 pages are now 28. We could have done with that last 4-pager, but there was simply no time to do the translation as well. I’ve been rejigging the page plan and every time I looked at it I was either 1 page too many or 1 page too short. BUT, we’ve sorted it between us and I just this second finalised the final (says she, hopefully) page plan/running order.

Everything is in as well, apart from a page that I do at the end of production (contents, etc), and a page that my boss always does at the last minute, but which he’s arranged for someone else to do this time. These are always our last 2 jobs and are usually completed once everything else has been sent off. I also have to prepare the coverlines and the deadline-for-material-for-the-next-issue box, but those are easy. My boss can now go off on his holiday this afternoon with a free conscience, having helped me as far as he could at this stage.

Oh, but am I having problems with technology.

Our server fell over yesterday at work, and when it came back the restore preceded all of my edits to date. I DO have the paper trail, which I’m pretty anal about keeping anyway for such emergencies, and my boss has some of my later versions too on his server in The Netherlands. But it’s such a faff having to go through and do everything again.

The battery on my mobile phone isn’t retaining its charge, so I’ve had to order a new one direct from Nokia because the 2 retail outlets I use don’t sell the phone any more, so they don’t sell the batteries either. Carphone Warehouse offered me a good loyalty deal on a pay-as-you-go phone in case I was desperate for a phone, but I could have bought a new one last week when my phone went in to be fixed if I didn’t like the one I already have. I really do like the one I already have, so I had to go direct to Nokia. I don’t think the battery is covered by guarantee …

I don’t think I have anything else remotely interesting to say at the moment, and I was probably scratching around for the above. I’m busy, but it’s quiet, and all seems to still be well in Baggins Bottom.

6 thoughts on “>Full steam ahead

  1. >Carol: I still have the work to do, couldn't get going on it properly until I knew what order it was going in and where it fit. But tomorrow, Thursday, I'm having a day off, and I'm seeing Mom and Dad on Sunday.

    Like

Comments are closed.