>Busy autumn ahead

>So while I was recharging my batteries yesterday, the confirmation came in that my purchase orders for the activity annuals we discussed last month would be with me by the end of this month. This means I have at least 2 activity annuals on their way, and possibly 3. Whoo-hoo! I LOVE this work.

The email gave me a kick up the pants because I need to clear the decks if I also want to do NaNoWriMo in November – and I do. Hopefully all the deadlines will slot in together. But this means writing work due before Christmas includes the following (it’s been a long time since we had a list):

  • proof Night Crawler (time this one was gone) – manual edits
  • electronic edits Night Crawler
  • publish Night Crawler
  • order author/comp copies Night Crawler
  • market/promote Night Crawler
  • re-submit Christmas story to magazine
  • draft 1 Catch the Rainbow
  • outline The Project With No Name (NaNo)
  • RD&T Magazine WINTER issue
  • research TV programme for ACTIVITY ANNUAL #3
  • research TV programme for ACTIVITY ANNUAL #4
  • ACTIVITY ANNUAL #3-1
  • ACTIVITY ANNUAL #3-2
  • potentially ACTIVITY ANNUAL #4-1
  • draft 1 The Project With No Name (NaNo)
  • ENJOY CHRISTMAS BREAK

Night Crawler was delayed because I want to buy at least 10 author/comp copies pre-publication, plus the local library wants to do a book launch and I need a pile of books for that too (and there’s Lori’s to order and send). I’ve decided that the first pay cheque for the activity annuals this time will be used for those. Priority. Now I know I have another 2, possibly 3, bumper pay packets on the way, I can put my back into it and get it shifted. It needs to be gone, though. I’m tired of seeing it on my to do list and in my diary.

When Night Crawler is finally published, I’ll do another giveaway competition, so read the blog carefully between then and now.

Catch the Rainbow was starting to resemble wading through treacle, but I have to get it done and quit with the excuses. I’m NOT shelving another project – it’s bad for motivation and self esteem.

The NaNo project needs working on from scratch, which is the idea, right? I know the genre, I know the length, I know the market. I’m just short on everything else, including a title, which is always a problem for me (anal, I know, can’t help it).

I research the TV programmes for the activity annuals because I need to know that I’m keeping the characters in character wherever possible. It’s important that at least one of us knows who’s in the show and what they do, especially as they’re for kids and kids are good at spotting mistakes. As these are both new projects for me, I’m going to be watching a lot of children’s telly.

Yesterday evening I sat down to get on with more diary work and the first item on the list. I spent the summer months sightseeing, walking, exploring, photographing, and I’ll spend the winter months writing about all of that as well as all of these.

Today I’m in a meeting from 10:30am until 5pm, so I wrote this last night and scheduled it to post this morning. It’s a business excellence meeting – that’s quality management to me and you. The magazine went to press yesterday, it should be on desks within the next week.

I need to take the rest of the week off. I hope that’s ok.

8 thoughts on “>Busy autumn ahead

  1. >Sounds like you've got everything sorted, as usual. Percolate on the Nano — the title will come. I find that for Nano, I like to have a title from day 1, even if I don't always need one on other projects. but a title for Nano helps me focus.

    Like

  2. >Let's hope I can stick to it, Devon. I can't go anywhere without a title, and if I already know it's only a working title, that doesn't work either.

    Like

  3. >The title will probably hit me at the oddest of times, Carol. And I already started work on planning for the activity annuals … I knew it would be useful sitting at the back of the room in the training session I've been at all day …

    Like

  4. >Wow, I'm glad I don't live in your world Diane, it sounds incredibly complex and exciting… not that I understand most of it, but whatever it is – enjoy; clearly you get a lot of pleasure out of it because of the passion you put in. I've spent all day in Leeds in a management meeting at the highest level you can for my organisation working with regional partners and wow – interesting stuff, but shed loads of work has come out of it 😦

    Like

  5. >Which bit(s) don't you understand, Steve? The activity annuals were a mystery to me before I started to do them, but they're TV tie-in sticker books for kids available on most news stands. They have colouring activites, dot to dot, drawing, literacy, numeracy, quizzes, word searches, stories, etc, etc.

    Like

  6. >Currently doing a business excellence 'event' at my workplace…with the CI (Continuous Improvement) Dept. A bunch of backslappers who fail to achieve anything at all yet convince the upper management that it was all a success to keep themselves in a job. The chairman of the CBI recently called them the "parasites of Industry". I can see why.

    Like

Comments are closed.