>One project a month – September

>Okay, I know it’s really October now, but I did sneak this job in yesterday, so that’s technically still in September. No pictures, though.

Back in July I decided to try for one project a month, be it something small I could do myself, a craft project, or a major DIY or home project. Well, yesterday I finally had my roof fixed. The chimney pots had moved, I could see daylight from inside the loft around the chimney stack and along some of the ridge, and the gutters were running front and back. One pot still looks twisted, but the builder assures me it’s not going anywhere as he’s stuck both pots right down, filled in all the gaps, and he’s cleared out the guttering. The gutters will need replacing as they’re timber, un-lined and rotting. But for now, they’re clear and working.

Ooh, he fixed my security light too. Does that count as 2 projects a month?

The current magazine arrived late Monday afternoon and was on everyone’s desks by lunchtime on Tuesday. On Wednesday I had 2 – TWO – submissions delivered for the next magazine. This has to be a record. On Thursday morning the roofers arrived before I even left for work. By Thursday teatime I had a safe and secure chimney and a clear gutter. I’ve been full of cold all week, but it seems to be shifting now. All good things in time for the weekend.

This evening we’re off to a 50th birthday party with a gig thrown in. We don’t want to spend the whole evening there, but we’ll show our faces. Tomorrow we have a choice of 2 gigs to go to, but at the moment neither of us is very enthusiastic about going to 2 gigs on the trot (1 Friday and 1 Saturday). Saturdays are chores days too, so I’m usually quite busy.

On Sunday I may go on a short walk and then drop into a nice garden centre afterwards – the garden centres are all opening their grottos for Christmas and I like to see them before they’ve been spoiled. Then again a mate wants to come and look at my new Wii Fit Plus games, so I’ll see how I feel.

Every single October I vow to buy a pumpkin, make some pumpkin-something-or-other, and have a proper lantern for Halloween, but until now it’s been an unnecessary expense. It’s still an unnecessary expense but I can stand it this year for a change, so I’ll be looking out for examples in the supermarket and at the garden centre, and for suitable recipes (pumpkin pie or tart rather than soup).

There’s a monthly farmers’ market at the garden centre I’m toying with visiting this weekend, but it’s a week on Sunday, so I may go there next week instead and buy something unusual to cook with. I don’t think I fancy ostrich meat or venison, but I wouldn’t mind trying boar sausages or fruit-flavoured cheese or something. This weekend I may visit one of our farm shops and buy some of their home-produced meat.

Have a great weekend.

6 thoughts on “>One project a month – September

  1. >There are only about 2 dozen stands, but they're all quite different – and if I get there early enough I won't miss out on the stuff that goes quickly.

    Like

  2. >Just back from Keswick, and getting on with the laundry before going to Spain.Congrats on the weight loss and pleased the roof is done. Have a great weekend and a good week.

    Like

Comments are closed.