>Chilly

>I finally caved in and closed the bedroom window at night. I know the heating has been on for a couple of weeks now, but as there’s hardly any heat in the bedroom because I can’t stand it I’ve not been wasting any. And anyway, heat rises. So the stat in there is turned down very low. But this week has been sooooo cold, sooooo early, that the window finally got closed. Three people have hinted at the S word already this week but as one of them said, we’ve not had Halloween yet, it can’t come this early.

We shall see.

Last night I made it to the Ramblers’ AGM but I didn’t manage not to be elected to the committee. I’d promised myself I wouldn’t get involved, but a retiring member suggested me (I’ve only been with them for 3 months …) and as it’s not an organising job and as no-one wanted to fight me for it, I accepted. So I’m now area rep for Dearne Valley Ramblers. How did that happen? My first meeting to represent the group is on 29 November in Sheffield.

Because it was the AGM we had a buffet and a speaker, which meant the meeting continued for an additional 45 minutes to usual. I’d found out about a jam night in my village at the currently last remaining pub (although the other is up for let, it’s just boarded up at the moment). I’d said if I had time I’d get there after 9:30pm. I got there at about 10:15 and stayed for nearly 2 hours.

This morning I had a bit of a late start – it’s so cold and dark, you see. But I’ve done some gig list work, some admin work, and now I’m going to get on with some writing work. I can hardly wait for the clocks to go back again. I get up easier an hour later.

6 thoughts on “>Chilly

  1. >The paper I worked on was in South Elmsall, so not too far from Barnsley. The reason I was put off happened while I was there. A teeenager from my village had been swinging on a set of goalposts which sadly had collapsed and he died. I told the journalist I mentioned earlier in passing and he went up to see this boys Mum on the day it happened. I was not happy and thought, if that's the kind of person I need to be, I need a rethink.Twiggy x

    Like

  2. >South Elmsall, that's really close to me. One of the next villages. That's a sad story, but hopefully the good far outweighed the bad. I've never done a toughie like that one either, though.

    Like

Comments are closed.