>VIRUS ALERT

>Facebook gave me a virus last night, an internet worm. It’s the only thing I was using at the time. The application accessed an un-used email account and sent itself off to everyone in the address book in batches of 10.

I’ve emptied the address book so it shouldn’t happen again. Hopefully your spam filters spotted it or you realised what it was before opening. I think it should be fine so long as you don’t click on the link.

The computer is clean. It’s brand new with up to date software and a full and complete scan revealed nothing. So this is an internet worm.

Please accept my apologies, but DO NOT OPEN AN EMAIL FROM ME THAT HAS NO SUBJECT AND JUST A LINK IN THE BODY.

10 thoughts on “>VIRUS ALERT

  1. >I don't think it's sinister, Carol. Probably more mischievous, like the one your hotmail account had a few years ago. I hope it didn't do any permanent damage.

    Like

  2. >I thought people would appreciate a warning, and as the worm had already sent itself, in case anyone marked it as spam, other emails from me might have gone straight to the furnace. So I've done it in the best ways I can think of. Hopefully I'll catch most people.

    Like

  3. >I've done a thorough security scan and there are no problems. I warned a few folk but it doesn't seem to have been passed on. Hey-ho another lesson learned but no harm done.

    Like

  4. >That's something, then. But what a nuisance. I'll be switching off the "automatically add addresses to contacts" facility. At least then I'll have more chance of knowing who's in there.

    Like

Comments are closed.