>Team NaNo

>And so it all kicked off for real yesterday. Watching midnight arrive, from the middle of Sunday onwards, on Twitter for WriMos the world over was almost as exciting as when the new century was televised every hour across the world nearly 11 years ago. The NaNo site fell over several times throughout the day but Twitter was very busy with all of us encouraging each other to keep going and congratulating everyone when milestones were achieved.

My first milestone was getting started, which meant my first tally of 146 words (hey, Chris Baty’s was 126, so I beat our founder). Team NaNo was right there with a virtual pat on the back. My next targets were 500 words, 1,000 words, and of course the magical daily 1,667, and I managed 1,734 words on Day One of NaNoWriMo. I was very proud of that and so were “my” team. And my “team”, by the way, features blogging buddies, Facebook friends, Twitter twits (or tweethearts as Michael Caine calls us), NaNoWriMos, and tangible mates too.

One person reported that they’d completed the full 50,000 words on Day One, but I think that was a bit of a cheat and not at all in the spirit of NaNo. They probably already had it written. Some of my team cleared well over 2,000 with some aiming at 10,000 words in the first day. Good luck to them, but again, I don’t think such large numbers are in the right spirit.

I’m happy with my daily target of 1,667 words. I can achieve that easily, and if I get stuck? Hey, I can waffle.

In other news … well, there is no other news really. I’m busy writing. End of. I’m in the office today for the day job, and my boss is back from his holiday, so there will be plenty to discuss. I also have the page plan to confirm and questions are coming in from contributors busy working on their copy.

Ah yes, the weather. The weather is being very autumnal – bouncing rain one day; high speed wind the next. The trees are aflame with colour; the ground is awash with leaves. And the weather is making it into my NaNo.

I added some extra projects to the WIP. I’d love to know if any of the titles intrigue you.

4 thoughts on “>Team NaNo

Comments are closed.