>Things that go WOOOOOFFFFF!

>Whoa. What a day yesterday turned into. I’m not going to blog about it because some of it is confidential. But certain colleagues at work took great pleasure in lighting my touch paper and watching me go WOOOOOOFFF! To be fair, it was more of an “are you aware of this”, and I wasn’t. But they still enjoyed the show anyway.

My NaNo was a bit of a struggle last night. With everything going on at work I didn’t get a lunch break so didn’t get to write anything. Then when I got home and had tea, instead of cracking on with it straight away I nattered with the gig buddy. She’s making me some curtains for the spare room. The ones I have up are fine as a temporary thing and don’t really matter in the summer. But with the headboard against the window, the small room needs something a lot warmer at the window during these cold nights.

She’s also going to see if she kept any of the material from the living room curtains as I’ve decided – 2 years on – that I want tie backs. If she doesn’t, it’s ok, I can manage with deep red braided rope. And in case I change my mind in 2 years time on the spare room curtains, I’m getting tie backs with these anyway. And a bolster cushion.

I did settle down eventually to do some writing, but I sort of semi-paused at 9pm to semi-watch one of these living history programmes where they get volunteers to live and work as they would have done during a specific era. The first of the series was Turn Back Time – The High Street (Victorian) and it was really interesting to watch how they dealt with baking bread, for example, using cheap and potentially poisonous bulking agents, despite everything they know about food health today. At 10pm I stopped work altogether to watch a film I can watch over and over again, Bridget Jones’s Diary.

It was a late night, but by the end of it I’d managed 1,743 words (daily target 1,667), bringing me to 3,477 words to date (day 2 target 3,334). Whoo-hoo!

I hardly remember any of the drive in to work this morning (not very good), because I drifted off and stumbled upon my dashing NaNo alpha male hero hiding away in a folly secretly painting watercolours, with his horse, a chestnut arab called Prince, grazing outside … That’s good – isn’t it?

4 thoughts on “>Things that go WOOOOOFFFFF!

Comments are closed.