>Speed queen

>

I manage to slow down for road signs that warn of speed cameras, for speed cameras painted yellow or grey on the side of the road, for painted white measurements on the tarmac, and for uniform police cars. I need to now do the same when I see an oddly parked white vehicle, usually van-sized, on the side of the road.

Five years ago, in April 2005, I got my first ever speeding ticket. It was the day I came for my interview for here (and the day my lovely dog died, so I remember it well). Less than a month later I had another, and wham, there were 6 points on my driving licence. Four years ago in December, I got my next 3 points and I was looking forward to them expiring in a few short weeks.

Three weeks ago I was driving along and got so engrossed in wondering why a white van ahead was parked so badly, it wasn’t until I was on top of it that I realised it was another mobile speed unit (my 2nd set of points was from a mobile unit – it was parked opposite a famously burned out fixed speed camera …). I was sure I wasn’t going very fast, though … but you guessed it, 2 weeks ago I got my latest speeding ticket. I was so annoyed with myself and quite frustrated that my licence wouldn’t be clean again, but I knew they were offering speed awareness courses in this area and was prepared to push my bottom lip out if I didn’t get offered one too (“Iz it coz I iz a girl?”).

On Saturday the letter arrived offering me a speed awareness course and no more points, so I was able to tidy up all of my toys after all. I still have to pay a fee, but it saves having 3 more points on my licence for the next 4 years, so I’m going for it. Now I just need to train brain to slow down when I see an oddly parked white vehicle on the side of the road ahead.

I’m a bit low at the moment. I have my dental appointment next Monday and I’m not looking forward to it at all. I’ve been dreaming of having the tooth I broke 2 weeks ago pulled and then all of the others loosening and following suit. I’ve dreamed I’ve been grinding my teeth so hard they’ve all crumbled. And I’ve dreamed that my gums have refused to stop bleeding. I am so phobic about (a) going to the dentist and (b) having a tooth out that a friend is on standby should I need an extraction, because if I have to have it out they’re knocking me out first, and if they tell me it has to come out, I fear I may pass out. Hopefully I’ll already be in the dentist’s chair so that shouldn’t hurt too much. I know I shouldn’t worry until I get there, and I’m trying not to. But I can’t help the dreams.

We have autumn leaves all over the place now. At work I think the leaf blower is one of our cutbacks because soggy wet, slippery leaves are piling up all around the steps into the building and I’m not sure what the health & safety rules will be on that if someone slips and falls. At home I swept up all the leaves at the back and the front while they were still dry. I have to sweep them rather than rake them as I don’t have a lawn. I almost filled my green wheelie bin with what I swept up, and every morning there’s another pile waiting for someone to skid on and have an accident.

I’m looking for work. The activity annuals haven’t materialised yet, although the purchase orders have, and the magazine has been delayed until January. I have lots of work I can be getting on with as well, but I believe marketing is an ongoing job if you want ongoing work. At least I have lots of time at the moment for NaNo.

8 thoughts on “>Speed queen

  1. >Try using cruise control, Diane. I've found it keeps me honest when I'm able to use it.Or imagine every mile or so there's a dog about to leap in front of you.Or envision the place you're racing to get to has just been overrun by flesh-eating zombies.Whatever works. 🙂

    Like

  2. >I think cruise control has only recently arrived on our cars, but I often wish I had it. Maybe my next car … My dad will say just keep to the speed limits. :o)

    Like

  3. >Last time I saw one of those mobile speeding things it was parked right on a bend in a dangerous and stupid position – a miracle it didn't cause an accident. I didn't even see the one that got me – you have my sympathy. I know someone who went on one of those speed awareness courses and he said he was very glad he went.Good luck at the dentist, it's obviously playing on your mind a great deal. More sympathy coming your way.

    Like

  4. >I hate speeding tickets. When I was in high school, I think I got three. Whenever I saw a cop, I would freak out, worried that he was going to pull me over. I need to go back to the dentist, but I, too, hate it so much that I'm putting it off.

    Like

  5. >Teresa: I think they place mobile units AND fixed cameras in the most ridiculous of places, the fixed ones are always pointing down hill or 100 yards after the speed limit drops, etc. I think the vans must park in funny positions to get the right vantage point.

    Like

  6. >Skidding on leaves and having an accident…surely not. Found out I've got a puncture and bent handlebars to go with my bruises this morning. Sticking to four whells for a few days

    Like

Comments are closed.