>NaNoFail

>

If I had any hope of getting anywhere close to my NaNo target, I needed to get my head down and go for it. And I’d made a start too … but when I woke this morning I felt so rough I stayed in bed and fired a message to my boss telling him I’d probably swap today with next Thursday. The intention was to stay in bed for much of the day, but then an urgent email came through to the mobile phone … Note to Self: When ill in bed, switch mobile OFF.

Anyway, the activity annual for which I have been waiting on artwork for over a month needs to be in on 6 December … [GULP]  Now I know I’m good, but … Fortunately I had a list of activities I wanted to include and my editor just sent me the necessary page plan so I can get on with the running order. But until the other materials arrive, I can’t do more than plan.

If the artwork arrives tomorrow I really need to well and truly knock NaNo on the head because this is a good earner for me. It was my first time at NaNo though, and I’m glad I did it, I already learned a lot, I have more than 15,000 words I didn’t have when I started, and I met lots of lovely new people. But if I can’t do it, I can’t do it, I have to concentrate on the revenue-earning stuff first where I can, and I don’t want to burn out. And anyway, I can still build it into the rest of my regular writing schedule.

This means I’m going to be quiet for a few days, so apologies for that. If I’m not working, however, I’ll be baking. And if these germs aren’t gone by Sunday, I’ll also postpone my trip to Birmingham.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING to my American friends.

4 thoughts on “>NaNoFail

  1. >If you want to nail the 50K in Nano, it has to be THE priority, which means you do your allotted words before anything else, and anything else has to wait until you get X words done. That means it must come before job, family, and everything else. You have to be utterly ruthless.And there are some years where that's just not possible.Also, I think there's a point in one's writing process where one outgrows Nano, and it no longer serves the purpose. When you write regularly, the big push over the course of 30 days isn't necessarily the best way to get something done.

    Like

  2. >Yes, I think you're right. It was an exercise really, to see if I could write every day, and I can. Maybe I just need to lower the daily word count to something more achievable like 1,000 words when I'm doing everything else as well. Bearing in mind I probably write that most days just on my blog, plus all the other writerly things I do throughout the day.No regrets, though. I'm sorry I didn't achieve the full 50k, but I found out so many other things, like I really do need a plan and character sketches and a certain amount of research beforehand.

    Like

Comments are closed.