>Day 1: 29 November 2010

>Circle 3 words that appeal to you and use them to write a story. Start with this sentence …

Sometimes I feel just like a gerbil, running around and around on his wheel! [sic] It would be so much more fun on a carousel. I could sit down for a start and give my little legs a rest and maybe look at the countryside instead of concentrating on the road all the while. That’s why I like to be driven every so often. I get tired of driving all the time, having to keep alert, watch the road. Of course when you’re on your own most of the time you pick up bad little habits or forget your manners, which is fine when there’s no-one around but flatulence can be a bit of a problem when you’re in company, or even in a queue at the supermarket, for example, or in a bank. The silent kind aren’t such a problem but … well, you get the picture. I do like company, though. I like to have friends to go out with. And if we go to, say, the seaside or a place of interest, I like to buy a little keepsake, something aside from photographs to remember the day by. I’m going “home” in a couple of weeks for a night out with some of my old Brummie mates. I used to steal pub ashtrays in the old days and those were my mementoes from great nights out with friends. Not much hope of blagging an ashtray in these no smoking days. I’ve also collected match books, but those will have the same problem attached.

My buzzer has gone, my first 10 minutes are up, and this isn’t much of a “story”. It is, however, 291 words of pure abandon. I’ll try not to peek at tomorrow’s exercise until tomorrow.

© Diane Parkin 2010

Q. In terms of writing practice, what type of gerbil are you?
A. 2 Avoiding the wheel.

Q. If writing practice were an airplane [sic] instead of a gerbil’s wheel, what would you do differently?
A. I’d avoid climbing the steps. Probably.

4 thoughts on “>Day 1: 29 November 2010

  1. >This is a great idea, especially posting them to keep the pressure on. I'll be interested to see whether you last the year and, if nothing else, you've got ten minutes of relaxing writing every day to look forward to.

    Like

Comments are closed.