>Day 2: 30 November 2010

>Use each letter as you get to it. Start with …

New Year’s resolutions make me re-assess my life and what I’m doing with it. It’s easy to write a list of things to do when it’s the end of a year, but sticking to it is another matter entirely, even when there are things you know should do for a better quality of life. Some people’s resolutions are just plain silly or unobtainable, like wanting to win several millions on the lottery. Get real.This is not something you can control. For example, eat less is a far better target, or see more of your family and friends, or write 1,000 words per day or for one hour a day or for 10 minutes a day even. “Lose weight” undermines your control, better to do toning exercises and see how it goes. Do you get the idea? I am getting much better at setting goals of my own. If I make them more obtainable, if I keep them to what I control, naturally there are more ticks, more ticks mean more motivation, and more motivation means, for me, much more productivity.

This one was hard, having to fit my own words in between the set letters and then thinking of suitable words. I almost cheated – but that would defeat the object. In today’s 10 minutes I managed 220 words.

© Diane Parkin 2010

Q. Think New DAY resolutions instead. What new writing-related thing do you resolve to do in the next 24 hours?
A. Finish at least one draft of one piece of work.

4 thoughts on “>Day 2: 30 November 2010

  1. >197 words. Each sentence begins with the next letter. Hope its clear.New Years resolutions make me want to give up before I start.Everyone asks you what you are planning to do.Whether you are planning to lose weight, change your job or start a new hobby.Year after year we all face the same questions and decisionsEach one of us makes promises we know we’ll never keep.All of your friends and family start this slide into self-delusionReality says you will not keep any resolution beyond a few weeks at most.Re-assurance may help, of course, for a little while, having people support you.Eventually though you will succumb and the resolution will fall by the wayside.Surely this should be the year to say no more of this.Overturn the tyranny of the resolution pressure groups.Loosen the ties that hold you to the demands of the New Year.Undo your previous resolve to be the same as everyone else.This is your year, the year to be you.Indicate to your friends and family that no resolutions mean no broken promises.Onwards and upwards, my friends, with your determination not to fall into this trap.Now is the timeStart the ball rolling.

    Like

Comments are closed.