>Day 10: 8 December 2010

>Use the directional words as you get to them. Start with …

Just like the little red caboose I wondered what was up with the red caboose, and what the heck’s a caboose in the first place? I suppose I could look it up or Google it or something, but that would only eat into my time. It’s right up there with the rest of life’s little mysteries, and do I really want to know anyway? Left to me I’d probably look for something else to do, something I know about and I realised that all things are relative. I have no idea what a caboose is, or who or why. Perhaps someone could enlighten me. I’m really wrenching these words out, it’s hard going and I may not even reach the down word … okay, so I did. Just. But what a load of rubbish this one is. And I still have a few minutes left. I wonder if there would be a UK equivalent to this caboose thing that no-one else in the world would know anything about. How hard would it be for the publisher to hire an English editor to anglify a book and make it slightly more global, slightly less local? Not one of my best but at least I gave it a go. (205 words)

The little red caboose said: “I think I can, I think I can”. Write down a facet of your writing craft that would be helped by repeating: “I know I can, I know I can”. Say it over and over until you believe you can. Then do it.

I know I can write something for just 10 minutes a day. I know I can … and I have been. Even rubbish. Mostly rubbish …

2 thoughts on “>Day 10: 8 December 2010

  1. >Just like the little red caboose, I start out any journey with enthusiasm and purpose. However I also start out in the certain knowledge that I will get lost. It is a gift that has been passed down from my father. A challenging and sometimes amusing gift that leaves friends and family in despair. I was born with no sense of place or geography. If some one says ‘you go up’ I will go down. Inevitably if I am told to go right, I will go left. This difficulty is also evident when I try and give directions. ‘Go down the hill’ I will say, to which the reply is ‘We are already at the bottom’ ‘You need to go right.’ I’ll say when enthusiastically pointing left. I normally tell people to watch which way my hands are pointing and ignore what my mouth says. This generally helps. I have been known to travel around roundabouts many times, confused as to which direction I am taking. However, although I can get lost I have generally arrived at my destination safe and sound, as have my rather harassed passengers. When travelling anywhere, I follow my directions to the letter, which can lead to misunderstandings. However, have you ever noticed that no one ever gives you directions on how to get home again? ‘You just do it in reverse.’ I’m told. Unfortunately the reverse way is a whole new world that looks utterly strange to me. Sat Nav has been a welcome boon, but even that can send me up strange lanes. I treat this ability as simply part of my lift. One thing does bother me though, when the adventure of this life comes to an end and St Peter beckons me one way and Old Nick, possibly the other way will I make the right turn?I think I can keep up with this commitment – just.

    Like

Comments are closed.