>Shooting stars

>

Domino hasn’t quite got the hang of hiding inside the box.
This morning when I woke up it was so dark I had to check I’d read the time right on the clock. Twice. But it was time to get up, it was just very dull and drizzly outside. Rain is good. It means it’s warm with no icy bits … although with more “Arctic conditions” forecast for later in the week, it might get icy. I’m hoping it misses us this time, which is unusual because I usually want snow and stuff. But I have a “hot date” in West Yorkshire on Friday and another in York on Sunday, plus I’d like the roads to be relatively clear the following Saturday as I’ll probably be doing the Christmas run on Christmas Day.
I didn’t do any baking over the weekend. (Shame on you, Diane.) I’d put an invite out on Facebook saying that as I’d gone to the trouble of putting the tree up, people could go to the trouble of coming to look at it, and there would be cookies. However, because I was due at the dentist yesterday, and due to have crown prep work, I knew I’d probably have a temporary crown and we all know how temporary those really are. So I didn’t do any baking in case my temporary crown fell off while I ate it. I did do lots of laundry and I knuckled down with the activity annual, getting my first submission in by midnight on Sunday.
The Write Brain exercises were done every day, I just didn’t get online to upload them every day. I’m not at all impressed with my output on these other than that there is output. But some of them are quite useful little exercises and I will come back to those ones to either expand what I started or use again as a new launch pad.
I psyched myself up for lots of grinding work at the dentist and when I got there I nearly refused to hand over my notes. But that lovely man decided that he wasn’t going to do the crown prep work … in case the temporary crown fell off over Christmas (say no more). Instead he put in a couple of temporary fillings (they’ll fall out, you’ll see), and sent me away a happy bunny. This meant I was able to crack on with a bit more activity annual work, but my internet at home was slightly temperamental, so I sent what I could and will send more today.
Yesterday my first friend came to see the tree … and was disappointed there were no cookies, saying I’d conned him. Nevertheless, he crashed on the settee anyway … and never wanted to leave again. It’s true, my settee eats people. Who knows who I might find lurking in the springs? With no temporary crown, though, and with a bit of extra time to myself this week, I’ll make amends on the cookie front – or at least bake some muffins.
Last night there was apparently a meteor storm, but I missed it because I was (rather unwisely) watching Part One of Ghostboat (on my own). Apparently there are a few meteor storms at this time of year, a friend of mine saw 10 shooting stars in 5 minutes. That might explain why the cats are suddenly looking at the front door as though there’s someone there. They’re acting as though there are fireworks going off but I can’t hear anything.
Today, then, I have a new brochure to start work on and more on the activity annual. I’m almost finished on the longhand version, and almost half-way through on the typed version.
Holly trying to see Domino around the settee (before the tree went here).
6 thoughts on “>Shooting stars

  1. >You'll bake when you can. And there are always bought cookies, if you fall behind.Your piece will go up next Tuesday — I'd hoped to get it done last night,but with the house full of fire fighters, it just wasn't possible!

    Like

  2. >The freezer is starting to get roomy. I need to get cooking something soon. But I'll feel more like eating home baking once the fillings have had time to set a bit. I even went back to shop-bought bread for a few days …Thank you for putting it up next Tuesday. I really do appreciate it.I'm jealous of your fire fighters …

    Like

Comments are closed.