>Cats get own back

>The cats have more than made up for me keeping them cooped up indoors all day … yup, the kitty kat shuffle has started again, usually starting with Holly at about 6am and Domino about 30 minutes later. At least they’re getting out, though, before I leave them for the day.

Vox-pop
Yesterday I nipped over the road to the hospital to buy drugs (cold drugs …) and I got vox-popped (broadcast-speak for “voice of the population”) by BBC Radio Sheffield. It took me right back to my own radio days and I hope I gave him something he could use. Although I’ve been a teacher and can project my voice when necessary, I do have to be turned up for radio. I’m full of cold too so he certainly has his work cut out splicing it all together.

He asked me what I thought of Rotherham Council charging for replacement wheelie bins unless householders could prove theirs were burned or stolen. They’re also charging new builds for their first wheelie bins and, of course, I think it’s a disgrace. I thought our council tax already covered refuse removal and suchlike. Just one more way to fleece Joe Public and there’s not a damned thing we can do about it.

Commuting experiments
I did some experimenting with my work bag for the commute and I downsized to what we call a bucket bag and only a bucket bag. It meant replacing the sandwich box with a sandwich bag and disposing of the handbag. The handles aren’t as long as on the larger bag I was using and it is sometimes slipping down my arm, but this may be due partly to the excessive winter padding at the moment.

The shoulder and back feel a lot better at any rate. And when I stepped out to the hospital yesterday without the burden of a bag, I felt great. Usually my legs feel a bit tired with the walk (it’s slightly uphill), so maybe the little exercise I’m getting now is already helping.

The cold has really come out now, hence my need for drugs, and I’m posting this yesterday as I may find someone to send me home and tell me to stay there for a few days … I’ll add an edit if I’m in, but if not, I’ll be throwing a sickie (and I don’t really do that very often).

The weekend
I’ve been very good, getting up by 7am this week, doing my bus + train + bus commute, and getting home after 6pm. But now I’m tired. I’m looking forward to a few evenings of nothing and some decent lie ins. I still have to do stuff, I still have 3 days left of my Plum workshop. But I’m looking forward to those lie ins. (Cats, be warned.)

Saturday will be chores, all being well. I have ironing and baking to do, and I want to do some batch-cooking so I have lots of meals I can just pop into the microwave when I get in from work. Sunday is the farmers’ market and supermarket – I’ll get some chicken joints and make a casserole with dumplings. Monday is my “free” day out to Monk Bretton, but I also booked an appointment with the optician for that afternoon. (People that know me well will spot an additional motive for the bus pass now …) And then next week is my first Tue – Thu 3-day week.

Economy drive
There are 3 gigs I could be going to on Sunday, but I can’t get to any of them via my new “limo” (aka the 219). Well, one of them I can, but with a long walk and then an admission fee. Pop is already dearer than beer and the VAT increase will also have taken its toll, and I simply can’t afford it at the moment. But I have plenty of other stuff I can be getting on with.

I’m in the middle of knitting an Aran sweater, I need to get into the habit of doing some every night. But it’s harsh, British wool and it makes my fingers sore. I may haul that out and give it a bash, though. And I have cross stitch pictures if the light is right. I’ve recorded a few films and programmes over the holiday too, so if there’s nothing on the telly I have plenty to watch on the DVD.

I hope I’m up to all of this. Have a great weekend.

8 thoughts on “>Cats get own back

  1. >If you're not feeling well, maybe you should just stay in all weekend. Or will you have cabin fever by Sunday?In the apartment, it was all handled as part of the rent –we brought our garbage down and the recycling down to the bins, they put it out for collection.Here, we buy our own physical bins. You can hire in a company to do the collection (which is a lot of money). I take it to the dump every few weeks. Oh, excuse me, "transfer station." Recycling's free and household garbage is $13 for up to 10 bags of the 30 gallon size. Since I only have one or two (the garage would be full and stinky if I waited until I had 10), I sometimes wonder if I'm not making best use, but garbage pickup would be about $250 or more/month otherwise.

    Like

  2. >Devon: I won't be going to any gigs but I have to get food. Every time I open the back door I breathe in the fresh, clean air. It'll be nice to go out, and I'll be in the car on Sunday.We pay council tax or rates and refuse collection is supposed to be included in that.

    Like

  3. >They were going to use it this morning, at breakfast I think, but I wasn't listening. They wouldn't have used my name either, just the sound-bite.

    Like

  4. >Hope you are feeling better soon. If you are having the same weather as us I doubt you will be going anywhere. 2 inches of snow this morning and now thick fog….lovely.Whatever, have a great weekend.

    Like

Comments are closed.