>Relief

>Sunday morning dawned bright and sunny and a fellow Tweep was banging on about, well, bangers. Sausages. She was going to have sausage sandwiches and I suddenly fancied sausage sandwiches. I had cocktail sausages and locally made sausages … but they were all in the deep freeze. It was a lovely day, I was feeling bright and breezy again. So I decided to go to the farmers’ market at Wentworth after all. Yes, yes, I’d already over-spent at the supermarket. But they wouldn’t be back again until the following month. So I went. For sausages.

And I came back with ostrich burgers, free range eggs, potted beef with garlic, and white chocolate buttons … I didn’t come away with any farmers but the chocolatier was very nice … And no sausages.

The run out did me the world of good and set me up for a trip to the local priory on Monday morning. But Monday morning dawned foggy, dull, miserable, damp, and I decided not to go. I also cancelled my doctor’s appointment – I want to see a regular doctor not the locum (part time, contract replacement), and we’re being asked to stay away from surgeries during the current flu outbreak unless it’s an emergency. So I stayed away.

The message came through mid-morning that my activity annual (#3-1) had been approved with just 3 very minor changes, all of which could be done in the studio, and one of which was their error in the style guide. I said I’d get on with the next one, then (#3-2), and was told I’d have the deadline for the next two annuals today (#3-3). This is splendid news. I have the purchase order for #3-2 already, and just need confirmation for #3-3.

Then I hopped on a bus for my dreaded optician appointment. People think it’s very strange that I panic about this appointment – it’s been 7 years since my last one. But it’s because taking my eyes for their test is rather like taking an old car for its MOT. Either may fail. Massively. I’ve had my driving licence taken off me twice due to poor eye sight tests and it’s always a worry. But I was assured that there is no longer anything wrong with my distance vision that spectacles can’t correct (for years, they couldn’t correct it), and the near sightedness I’ve recently started to suffer with was fixed completely with the lenses they put in the contraption thing wotsit.

Either my eyes are now correctable, or technology has advanced in leaps and bounds. My old childhood optician will be delighted that they’ve finally fixed my eyes.

Of course, I hadn’t budgeted for new glasses, but I can get 2 pairs of vari-focals with anti-glare on one pair (for driving at night) and a tint on the other pair (for driving in sunlight or snow glare) for just £180. I’ll find that money somewhere because it’s my eyes and eyes are very precious. When really necessary I seem to have money fairies that ensure something always turns up. But the activity annual money will more than cover them when that comes in.

I was in such a good mood I really pushed the boat out and ordered a Chinese delivery for tea. I usually split a single Chinese into 2 and save one for the next day. And that’s what I did. I have Chinese for tea today as well which will save me cooking.

It’s the first of my all new 3-day weeks this week. I’m looking forward to a nice long uninterrupted weekend with no bad cold confining me to bed.

6 thoughts on “>Relief

  1. >Hi! I nearly called at the farmers market on Sunday too – but decided I could do with saving a bit of money! The walk at Rivelin is very easy. If I did it again, I would park at the far car park – that way you get the cafe halfway! (always thinking of my stomach!!)xxx

    Like

  2. >There weren't as many stallholders there this time, and I only spent a fiver. Always nice to pop over there, though.I'll certainly look at that walk, thanks. :o)

    Like

  3. >Yeah, I just dropped 500 bucks on new glasses in October or so. It's too important to skip. Sounds like you had a wonderful time at the Farmers' Market — can't wait until they start up here again in spring and summer. Although, with luck, I'll be growing some of my own and will just have to fill in . .

    Like

  4. >My dad thought I'd got a bargain with the glasses. I can't wait to try them, I want to read without getting a headache.One of our stalls only comes from September to Easter, then he skips the summer months. It's an organic veg farm in West Yorkshire. I didn't even know we'd advanced to organic …

    Like

  5. >Sounds like a good visit to the market. I've never visited that market although I do enjoy going to Wentworth….I have to admit that I'm useless in the maze, no sense of direction at all.

    Like

  6. >It's the 2nd Sunday of every month at the garden centre if you ever fancy it. I enjoyed chatting to several of the traders … especially the chocolatier … :-p – and they made me believe they'd remember me next time. Business folk I know, but really friendly.

    Like

Comments are closed.