>Happy Christmas

>

My mom and dad gave me some money for Christmas and I finally got around to spending some of it.

At the end of the summer last year, my lovely little brass carriage clock, which I’ve had since 1985, gave up. It had cost £10 (apx $16) – a lot of money in 1985 – and was a thank you/engagement present (the first time) when my dad’s friend came over from Canada and was given my room for the duration of his stay.

I’ve always wanted an anniversary clock, but the one I bought, when I got it home, turned out to be a piece of tat, and Holly wanted to kill it (that would be the balls). I returned it to the store the next day and got a full refund. It was only on my way back to work that I hoped the lady I spoke to didn’t have the exact same piece of tat on her mantelpiece … oops. Perhaps “disappointed with the quality” would have been a more diplomatic reason for return …

I went to a jewellers, then, where there were some gorgeous anniversary clocks, but I have expensive taste – I’m obviously my mother’s daughter … In the end I was torn between a replacement carriage clock in brushed chrome or this one.  This clock won because (a) it has a second hand, and (b) it will match the mirror when I get it. I’ll spend the rest of my Christmas money on said mirror for my chimney breast in the living room, just as soon as I’ve found someone to help me hang it. It’s also brushed chrome, art deco, so the two should go nicely.

At the moment I have a beautiful blue glass clock on the mantelpiece that I bought on one of my jaunts to Venice. It doesn’t have proper numbers on it, but lumps of glass instead, and it doesn’t really go with the cream, red and beige décor. It’s done a grand job, but it needs to go back where it belongs.

A slight extravagance I bought at the same time was a new watch. I always get the same kind of watch. It has to have a leather strap so (a) it fits, and (b) I don’t get a metal allergy to it. And it has to have a clean, easy-to-read face with proper numbers on.

I can read Roman numerals, which is a good job when you see the clock. However, I can’t read a watch if it just has dashes or smudges instead of numbers, or nothing at all. Someone once bought me a watch with just 4 dots on, where the 12, 3, 6 and 9 should be. I had no chance reading that one, but it was a very nice watch.

This watch is an old favourite. It used to be just £15 ($24) from Argos, but now it’s closer to £20 ($32). The battery lasts a long time, and usually just a little while longer than the strap. So rather than buy a new battery for around £6 or £7 ($9 – $11) and a new strap for around £10 ($16), I just get a new watch.

My old watch has been hanging by a thread for several months now but the strap is getting shorter (I have to cut parts off when it gets too untidy). It’s been at least 5 years since I bought this one. It’s time … (sorry).

Finally, when I wound up (there I go again …) in the jewellers I spotted a pair of diamond cut, 9ct gold, hinged sleepers. These are so rare now that if we see them we buy them. And so I did. Some of the quarterly bonus I got from work will cover the sleepers and the watch.

Sometimes I can want or need something for ages, and I’m not an impulsive buyer all the time. But when I see something that’s perfect, I just know and I go for it. I wasn’t happy with the first clock but took it home anyway to see how it looked and felt. I should have just trusted my gut in the first place. As soon as I saw the clocks in the jewellers, I knew that one of them would be The One, just as when I stumbled upon the mirror in the DIY store I knew.

I don’t have fussy taste, I like simple, plain, dainty things, especially in miniature (and usually expensive). So when I saw a whole selection of miniature clocks in the jewellers I wanted to fetch all of them home, but I was very good and settled for the clock and the earrings. It’s my birthday in March. I may treat myself to just one then.

Today is the last day of my 3-day week. That came around fast. I have a very busy 4-day weekend ahead. I’ll be working on activity annuals tomorrow, in Sheffield on Saturday for a Ramblers’ meeting, visiting my parents on Sunday, and working again on Monday. If I can get someone to come in either Friday or Monday, or Saturday morning to help, I’ll pick up that mirror … but that may be next month now.

6 thoughts on “>Happy Christmas

  1. >The clock is lovely. I need to get my Anniversary clock fixed, along with a mantel clock. The cats sit and watch the balls on the anniversary clock, fascinated (when it works) and hide when the mantel clock chimes.Besides, the extra money was given to you so you could pick something you might not ordinarily buy right now for yourself. Enjoy!

    Like

  2. >Devon: It was such a tacky anniversary clock that Holly didn't like the noise the balls made as they went around. I'll get one one day.I want to be able to say: "That was my Christmas present off my mom and dad," and "My January bonus paid for those." Sometimes I can say "The activity annual paid for that."

    Like

  3. >Carol: For too long any money my parents (or anyone) gave me got sucked into my housekeeping or my overdraft or something. Now I like to at least get "a little something" with what they give me.The Venice clock is called just that and it sits on my writing desk when it's not on the mantelpiece.

    Like

  4. >Question: what is a "sleeper" from the jewelry store? I've never heard that term before.I love getting Christmas money and finding just the right gift for myself. 🙂

    Like

  5. >Sleepers are hoop earrings for pierced ears, so called because we can sleep in them. Most are bendy hoops, but I like them hinged (they swing open), and I prefer diamond cut to plain.

    Like

Comments are closed.