>One project a month – January 11

>

It’s the little things that count, right?

Meet my notice board. It’s a very old notice board and I could really do with another, but for as long as this one still works, it’s my notice board. For the past 5 years this has either been hidden behind a wardrobe or propped up on my desk.

On Monday, at last, I got it up on the wall. It’s one thing less on my desk and now I have a proper place to pin things. All I need are some nice postcards and some happy, jokey stuff to cheer it up.

I didn’t do a very good job, actually. The board is so old the cork has gone soft and is falling apart around where the screws hold it in the wall. I could do with some longer screws and some washers to stop the screw heads digging in the cork.

And then there’s the wall behind, which is now very well hidden. The plaster is so old and crumbly (it’s black dust) that the 2 holes just kept getting bigger and bigger, but they weren’t quite deep enough for the teeny tiny wall plugs. Or not on the first few attempts at any rate …

BUT … it’s up there now, it’s sturdy enough so long as I don’t swing from it, and I can see 2 of the most important things in my working life: a calendar (I LOVE diary work) and a to-do list for each month. (You lot saw those yesterday.)

8 thoughts on “>One project a month – January 11

  1. >Wow what a neat n tidy corkboard. You should see mine! No perhaps you shouldn't… At one time my corkboard was a load of cork floor tiles stuck to the wall – huge it was 🙂

    Like

  2. >I daren't put too much on it yet, Teresa, I've seen how much give there is in the screw-holes. I have 3 notice boards at work, a green one, a cork one and a white/wipe board. Actually, they're quite tidy too. It'll be the OCD …

    Like

  3. >I just want to clear my desk and get a bit more organised, Carol. I have 2 bookshelves propped on the desk too, so just lifting this was a massive improvement. I can't work in clutter … um, that'll be the OCD …

    Like

  4. >If you like the lines of the board, but it's getting a bit ratty, you can wrap it in batting and fabric, and it will last for another 5-10 years.I think it looks good, but it's simply another option.

    Like

Comments are closed.