>Happy Birthday! To me!

>

It’s my birthday today and for the first time in as long as I can remember I’ve put all of my birthday money towards a proper birthday present. Amazon’s new Kindle. With the change – yes, I had change too – I bought a couple of extra classics on top of the 65 I already downloaded for free, and I bought The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
I’ve already read The Rime of the Ancient Mariner by Samuel Coleridge, which I’d never read before, and now I’m reading The Legends of King Arthur and His Knights, adapted by Sir James Knowles. I also have on there Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine and Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine.
So thank you to my parents and to my sister for helping me buy this.
I say it’s the first time I’ve spent my birthday money on a birthday present, and that’s true. For too long any extra money I’ve had has paid

for the groceries, or paid a credit card bill, or put petrol in the tank. But 2 years ago I entered into a financial management plan to help me manage my debt (and I’m quite open about this because for too long it’s been a dirty subject that people who care have been ashamed to talk about, yet the best thing that happened to me was finding out that there were other people in the same boat as me, and there is help for those that want it), I’m still paying my debt, but I’m managing my finances the best I ever have done.

I’m at work today. I had a steady day yesterday with just one visitor, twice, and managed to potter enough without resorting to putting my feet on desk and reading the current paperback. More of the same today, please.

10 thoughts on “>Happy Birthday! To me!

  1. >Happy birthday to you !!! Let us know how you get on with the Kindle, hubby and I were discussing the pros and cons of owning one at the weekend.I've told him though he's not allowed to read one in the bath, the amount of fat, soggy paperbacks we own is huge !!Twiggy x

    Like

  2. >Thank you, Twiggy. What is it about Kindles and baths? Everyone keeps saying "don't read it in the bath!" :oDSo far the benefits are mostly storage and cheaper books. The actual reading is great and fairly page-like, but lighter-weight. I have resisted an e-reader for an age. I love books, but as I give them away when I've read them, there's no point in me buying them for keeps. But for as long as the actual paperback or hardback is cheaper than the Kindle, I'll still get the traditional kind. And when my friend are published, I'll still get hardbacks or paperbacks. You can't really sign an ebook.

    Like

Comments are closed.