>The deed is done

>Most of you will have picked up that I wasn’t that desperate to stay at work, and I wasn’t unless it meant giving me back the job they hired me for. As that job became no more last September, as they couldn’t offer me anything above a spot of proof-reading that wouldn’t keep me occupied for 2 days a week let alone 3½, and as I’m not really prepared to take a backwards step (for me) back into admin and/or finance, we’ve agreed to part ways.

I’m not sad. It’s not the company I joined 6 years ago and it never will be again. This is absolutely the right decision.

So, onwards and upwards.

This morning on my way into work I picked up 2 writing magazines, at least one of which I’ll be subscribing to again, 2 weekly magazines that also carry short stories, 2 dedicated short story magazines, and 2 local magazines. I also got the Times free because I spent over £1 on magazines. I wish I’d known, I could have spread it out and spent a pound a day to get a free newspaper all week. I also had another writing magazine come in the post yesterday.

I’m averaging a children’s book roughly every month and that will become my bread and butter. I’ve applied to some of the other publishers for work too. I want to proof-read at least one book a month for the local book publisher, and I need to aim at selling at least one short story, one article and one filler a month too. I’ll also build in at least 2 novels a year. I’d like to alternate fiction with non-fiction but as I have more ideas for novels than books, it makes sense to get going on those first.

I’m becoming an expert on tightening my belt and that will come back into force again immediately – although I’m also getting a lightbulb moment about a possible regular gig in a finance magazine. I don’t want a regular forever column, but I don’t mind a few regular gigs.

If I can also sell one article to the Ramblers’ magazine, I’ll cover my Ramblers’ subscription with change. I need to do the same with my English Heritage subscription and my National Trust subscription, or cancel them if I can’t. If I subscribe to the writing magazines again, then the same will apply, and I already have one idea stewing for the markets newsletter I already subscribe to.

I need to print letterheads, business cards, compliment slips and port-folio packages. Some of this – within reason – can be done at work as part of my “back to work” assistance.

It’s all go.

Today I have my daily 80k in 80 days target to hit, an annual to keep going on, and a book to proof. I’ll also do some market study, some ideas brainstorming, and head back to the competitions board (I need to win a car!) and the money saving experts, gawd bless ’em.

20 thoughts on “>The deed is done

  1. >I know it's the end of an era, but you sound very organised indeed, and self-employment is no stranger to you. You'll do better than most people who find themselves out of a job.And you know what? It sounds fun, too. Scary, maybe, but definitely fun. You'd be enjoying it soon…

    Like

  2. >I think I've been waiting for this, Diane. I only went back to work so I could get a mortgage, then it became a convenient habit.Yes, it's exciting and scary all at the same time.

    Like

  3. >Good for you Diane. I think you'll embrace this challenge and it sounds as though you are very organised, motivated and raring to go already.Good luck, onwards and upwards.Twiggy x

    Like

  4. >Wow! This is my first visit to your blog and it looks like I've arrived at a bit of a life change for you.You sound very motivated, best of luck to you 🙂

    Like

  5. >Good for you, Diane. When I called it a day, some people said I was brave (by which, they meant, mad). The fact was, in my case, whatever the outcome, I didn't want to die, wondering. I wish you luck, although I suspect you'll be busy making your own.

    Like

  6. >Sarah, you're very welcome, and thanks for taking the time to leave a comment.I've not been very motivated for a year or so. Now I seem to have re-discovered my mojo. :o)

    Like

  7. >Honestly, Martin, I don't know why people are so scared to … be happy. If more people took the odd risk, conditions would be a whole lot better.Thanks for the luck. I'm collecting it all in a little luck pot. ;o)

    Like

  8. >Thank you. It's been a while coming, but I really don't think I had any alternative. No-one has to be miserable if they don't want to be.

    Like

Comments are closed.