>No water?

>I woke up this morning to find no water to the house. This was because of a burst water main up the road. People think it’s funny that I’m prepared for almost every situation, and the one thing I do in case there’s ever no water is make sure the kettle at least is full. That way I can have a cup of tea if all else fails.

When I got to work, Blogger was broken. It seems to be working now, but I think they had some maintenance issues.

I’m frantically working on the activity annual that was due last week. I think it’s fair to say that once all the materials are in, it should all be done and dusted within a fortnight. I estimated that kind of time frame when I was asked when I could deliver the one after next and I wondered if I was being too cautious. But I think now that a fortnight is a good turnaround.

The local publisher gives me 3 – 4 weeks to turn a proof-reading job around and I said I’d probably be able to do that in a fortnight too, or sooner if it’s the only job I have. He’s sending me another 2 books to proof on top of the one I’m already doing, which is great.

If I’m working solid at either of these jobs, I could probably do it in a week, less for the proofing. But it’s nice to have a bit of a breather or a change of scenery, so to speak, something to do in between.

At the moment I’m also catching up on the competitions. I’ve already let it slip a bit, but if I don’t start somewhere, it could take me 3 weeks to catch up and it can so easily turn into a full time job. I think the prizes that I’ve won so far slightly reflect the time and effort I put into it (£1,000, tickets to see Dancing on Ice, a DVD, a Legend of the Guardians goodie bag), but I need to up the success rate – out of my control, you may think, but if you ask the Universe nicely …

I’ve cosmicly ordered a new car next. A VW Golf would be great, but I’m not sure I can be so specific. And I think another cash win is long overdue.

So I’m a bit busy at the moment, doing a little bit of this, a lot of that, and quite a bit of the other, and I’m still waiting to see what happens at work regarding notice period, etc.

Ah yes, and working until 11:30pm every night, as I have been doing this week, I’m feeling a LOT like the little man in the picture. I think the writing fairies are upping that wordcount …

5 thoughts on “>No water?

  1. >Ah ha! Blogger is working again.Wishing you everything you wish for yourself, go and have a great weekend. The rest of your life..blah…blah. You know it.Take care.

    Like

  2. >Blogger's been on and off, Carol. Sometimes I can get in, sometimes I can't. And it's lost loads of comments and other things from Wednesday.

    Like

  3. >Thank, Devon. Although I may have to lower my sights if I'm buying one, either a smaller car or an older model. But, no rash decisions yet, eh.

    Like

Comments are closed.