>It’s all go

>On the way home yesterday I popped into a carpet place to have a look around. I’ll also be nipping into one in town tomorrow, which has come highly recommended. Then, if I’m still looking, I’ll check the place that has done all the carpets so far in my house. As soon as I see the carpet that I want, I’ll ask one of them to come and measure up. The carpet can be fitted while the decorator is still there, in between him painting the room and re-building the furniture. I hope.

I also popped into Staples to get a diary and some cardboard packing crates. The diary is because I have an academic year diary and the current one runs out in a month. I love diary work and will enjoy starting the new one. I have a dedicated address book now so I don’t have to keep writing out addresses every year.

The packing crates are for the clutter from the bedroom/work station. The stuff from work has gone into the cupboard under the stairs for now, with the most important stuff within easy reach. There’s no point in moving it all to the office when I’m having to empty all the furniture in there in just a week or so. Some things will go in the spare room, on the landing and in the bathroom, but other stuff will need to go in the living room. I don’t think I’ll be able to move the bed, the wardrobes or the desks, but if the modules and everything else are empty, they can be temporarily moved.

Before I put everything back when the work has been done, I’ll go through each box slowly and methodically and chuck anything I know I won’t need any more. This way, when everything goes back it will all be there for a reason and not for sentimentality/laziness.

The empty boxes, with lids, will then be used in the loft for archive storage. I need the lids because of the sooty dust up there. One day I’ll go through the boxes already in the loft because I’m sure I don’t need my invoices and other correspondence from pre-1996. Yes folks, that’s how long it’s been following me around.

As I already have an electrician coming I’m going to ask him about putting a light in the loft. He may want to chop down to the light switch in the bedroom and I’d sooner he do that before the bedroom is decorated. He may have to come back to earth the house after I get my redundancy money, but the bedroom stuff needs doing before the decorator starts.

I’ve given myself a week off from next Saturday. My last day at work is next Friday, the 28th, and I intend to do nothing other than my 80k in 80 days and the blog. This is when I also intend to pack and go through the boxes at my leisure. Oh yes, and I might go to the seaside. And for a walk with the Ramblers. The electrician expects to be doing his part of the work that week too, so I need to make sure he can get to the walls and the floorboards.

This weekend I have nothing planned. I may go to a gig tonight, if I get a whim. I may go to a gig on Sunday afternoon. I have to go to the library to renew my books, pop into town (free parking at the weekend), do my shopping, fill the car up thanks to a 5p-off-a-litre voucher, and catch up on 80k in 80 days. I’ll also be doing the baking I promised myself last weekend but never got around to, because I was working the whole time, and I may do some ironing. I may also Hoover the house … but we shall see.

Whatever you’re up to this weekend, have a good one.

14 thoughts on “>It’s all go

  1. >Ha ha ha, yes Sarah, it's deliberate. Just had my WB course reactivated by the way. Did you hear anything yet? I had to call them in the end.

    Like

  2. >Don't keep anything longer than 7 years where the Inland Rev may be involved, nothing longer than 3 years for anything else. Start chucking.Have a great, productive, enjoyable weekend.I have both mums staying as its mum in laws 88th birthday tomorrow. Its Shepley Spring Folk Festival this weekend so I hope the weather picks up for it.Take care

    Like

  3. >I had 10 years in my mind but I think most of it can go. It's just nice to see all those invoices when I need motivation … :-DSounds like a good weekend for you. Enjoy.

    Like

  4. >I am still carting around stuff from college history classes! Sometimes I wonder why I bother to keep it all. Methinks I need to chuck it.Can't wait to see pics of the new office when you're all done.Have a lovely weekend!

    Like

  5. >I think a good weeding will do you good, Melissa. And looking through it all will give you such memories and ideas.The "new office" currently feels a long way off …

    Like

  6. >THE BBC History Magazine, they have a twitter comments section and 'yours' on Dan Snow's 'Filthy Cities'.'Fascinating insight into streets of 14 C London showed Dan Snow in a whole new light. I may never eat sausage again'Or is there ANOTHER Diane Parkin…..we did wonder!

    Like

  7. >Ah yes. I remember now. They didn't say they'd used it in the mag, though. I shall have to buy it now – that gets added to the port folio! Thanks for letting me know. :o)

    Like

Comments are closed.