>More housekeeping

>The intention yesterday was to get lots of work done but I slept in and then started to do some more housekeeping.

This time I dug out my old laptop so I could extract all the critical data on there I hadn’t moved over yet. It took almost all day because it was so slow and I had to do it with Windows working in safe mode. I used a 2Gb memory stick to transfer the files and had to do it in 4 stages.

Then, with all of my critical data mostly in one place, I did a backup on the new laptop, which also took AGES, and I did a factory reset on the old one. Twice. Including a destruct one. But it’s not working. I couldn’t even get it to boot up in safe mode.

If we can’t save it, I’m taking the hard drive out and skipping it. If we can, I’ll just use it for Word so I can type drafts in other places without distraction, without disturbing the new laptop.

I got in touch with Writers’ Bureau and they had a record of me being further along the course than I thought I was. So I got a major search party out to find my old coursework, and while they had already sent me assignments 9 and 10, I haven’t done assignment 9. I was able to extract the last of the electronic files from the old laptop and the feedback for assignment 8 that I was previously missing was on there. Definitely no assignment 9, though.

So I’m going to read the modules for assignment 9 and get the next assignment off to them. They’re happy for me to do assignment 9 “again”, but I know I haven’t done it already. I have a market in mind, I just have to come up with a subject. Then they’ll allocate a new tutor as both of mine have now left the organisation. I’m going to ask for Simon Whaley for my last 2 non fiction assignments, as I already know him, but it depends on their policy. Simon’s happy to do it if they are.

I also found my old copy of The Organized Writer, which has always been a useful resource for me. I was coming that close to buying it again, but I found it so that’s okay.

I bought 3 Kindle books, one was from the Amazon link on this blog, one was my own book so I could see how it looked (and it’s only £1.71), and one is the next book we’re reading for the Book Group, The Fox in the Attic by Richard Hughes. I was going to get it from the library, but I decided to get the Kindle version in the end. After all, I do have a book budget.

And then it was shredding. So much shredding I made 4 trips to the recycle bin.

By the end of the working day I was shattered and didn’t feel as though I’d achieved very much, but at least the backup finished at roughly the same time. I had some correspondence regarding the next annual, and it’s going to be full steam ahead on that for the next few days.

I didn’t get any invoices done, but I may do those later today and back date them to yesterday.

This bedroom that I’m supposed to be de-cluttering currently looks as though a bomb has hit it. It’s quite soul destroying at the moment, but I know I’ll get there.

We decided we would go out last night, and so we did. I had Chinese for tea, which will last for today’s tea too. As I’d worked non-stop all day I forgot to break for dinner, so I think I deserved the Chinese. ;o)

Today it’s still the library, town, the carpet shop, the supermarket and the petrol station. I think Saturdays are going to be errand days now and in the future.

8 thoughts on “>More housekeeping

  1. >Forgot to say, we'll have to see if we are all around tomorrow. Apparently the world will end at 6pm, or at least some are going up to heaven and the rest of us have got it coming! Better get organised then. See you soon, I'm sure.

    Like

Comments are closed.