>Very late start

>It was a weekend and a half and I didn’t get everything done that I wanted to. I had a good list, though, so I achieved quite a lot – I’m trying to convince myself …

Saturday was errands, errands, errands, so I didn’t get time to do the Hoovering (shame). The free parking thing in Barnsley town centre is catching on and it took me ages to find a space, and then I had to walk further than usual. So I only made it as far as the main indoor shopping precinct to buy bird food (it’s a fraction of the price it is at Tesco) and some cheap t-shirts for working at home in. I did the weekly shop, had dinner in the Tesco cafe, filled the car up with petrol, and looked at some carpets but didn’t choose one.

I also went in search of the BBC History Magazine because, apparently, I have a Tweet in there about Dan Snow’s Filthy Cities. I remember the magazine asking what we thought of the documentary and saying the best Tweets would be published, but they never said they’d published mine, so it was a surprise when Carol told me. However, I think it must be the June issue of the magazine, which is out today, as I couldn’t find it anywhere in the May issue. I’ll have another look tomorrow as I’m a bit house-tied today and I doubt our local Co-op will have the BBC History Magazine

Saturday night I chilled in front of Britain’s Got Talent and was in bed by 10:30pm. I was shattered.

Sunday was reading – I finished the Bernard Cornwell, which I enjoyed once I got into it, so I could get on with the next one for the book group. I also did some diary work and some annual work. And I kick-started my own personal study regime.

The gig list fell over big time on Saturday, but as the world was supposed to end at teatime I thought I’d leave it until the next day and make sure we were all still here. But when I tried to sort it out yesterday, it was so convoluted, complicated and difficult that after several frustrating hours I gave in, reverted the gig list to its generic Blogger name, and fired off a seething email of complaint to Google.

My domain, which apparently expired in April 2010 (check the year …), finally died on 21 May 2011. I tried to renew it last year, but it came up that it had already been renewed, and I had to change my card details anyway. Now they’re saying I would have had an email warning of the expiry (I didn’t, and the email address I was using in 2010 was still valid), and then an email warning of the card payment failure (I didn’t …). I don’t understand why it took them over a year to switch it off. They’re liars, basically.

So off I tootled to renew it, like the good citizen that I am – and it had been SOLD to someone else! But if I was prepared to pay $89, they’d be able to get it back for me.

WHAT?! This thing only cost me $10 in the first place. Who else could possibly want dianesgiglist.com? Why hadn’t they uploaded any data? And how did they intend to get it back off the person they’d allegedly sold it to? They’re liars.

I told them they could stick their domain and was so fed up I cancelled the night out. But 2 hours later I decided I was going anyway, and I’m glad I did because I had a great if late night. I didn’t do any baking or any ironing and today I’m very late to my desk.

And today they’re trying to sort it out for me … for less than $89 I hope. I can’t afford to spend any more time on it. It’s already cost me far too much.

I have an annual to write this week and 2 books to proof, plus the last few days of turning in at work. I also want to get some queries out to a couple of local magazines.

9 thoughts on “>Very late start

  1. >I am furious with them, and if my name was Devon I'd be invoicing them for my time at £25 per hour x double time (Sunday).Yup, 4 more days from tomorrow, and counting … :o)

    Like

  2. >Just renewed my domain name, too, though it was with a company I wasn't crazy about. Ahh…last week of work at That Place for you. Awesome, awesome. Soooooo wish I could say the same for me! Day job sucks the life out of me.

    Like

  3. >I'm getting a bit jittery about money and work and stuff, but it does feel a hell of a lot better knowing it's my last week.

    Like

  4. >Don't get jittery, WE all know you can do this, you will be amazing.Sorry, tweet thing is in June issue. Never thought to say the month. I have it posted to me so must get it a few days early.Like all things domains have you a bit over a barrel, out to sting you.Hope it works out ok

    Like

  5. >I have the June issue now – and just look what it does to my "published in" column. :o)They don't have me over a barrel with the domain thing just now, although they may think that they do. The gig list isn't essential to my life and wellbeing, losing it is just a little inconvenient for those that use it.

    Like

Comments are closed.